menu bar
close-grey

在亚齐建立无森林砍伐的可追溯踪供应链

Posted: Oct 20, 2022 less than 1 minute read GAR 279 views

可持续供应链确保所有参与者在价值链中发挥作用,是协作努力的结果。作为一个负责任的生产商,GAR投资于塑造供应商的能力,提高他们的可持续发展绩效。今年早些时候,我们与业界同行Musim Mas合作,在亚齐省培训了55名供应商代表(包括工厂工人、贸易商和农民),以确保:

  • 他们遵守我们不砍伐森林的承诺
  • 他们可以实现印尼可持续棕榈油(ISPO)认证计划
  • 他们实施种植园可追溯性(TTP)
Capacity-building workshop
2022年4月,GAR和Musim Mas在亚齐省举办了一次能力建设研讨会,培训了55名供应商代表(包括工厂工人、贸易商和农民)。

亚齐拥有东南亚最富饶的热带雨林之一的古农列尤择国家公园(GLNP)和其他受保护的森林地区。这里还是几家向国际供应链供应毛棕榈油的公司的原料产地。在最近一部Netflix《我们伟大的国家公园》的纪录片中,美国前总统巴拉克·奥巴马向我们讲述了这片生物多样性丰富的森林。正是因为这些因素使得棕榈油生产商们优先考虑建立可持续供应链,以保护这些森林及其丰富的生物多样性。

GAR已经在和我们的供应商展开密切合作,对他们进行培训,以实现负责任的生产方式,我们会持续在这一地区付出努力。我们认为,实现供应链变革的一个合理有效的方法是与供应商合作,鼓励他们实施可持续的方法。尽管这种方法需要大量资源和时间,但2015年开始实施以来,我们已经取得了实实在在的积极成果。在我们的四大核心规范(可持续性绩效评估、种植园可追溯性、申诉处理和利益相关者参与以及能力建设)的引导下,这种方法确保了我们的关键客户和利益相关方对供应链转型的承诺。

GAR在亚齐的供应链可持续性方法。
GAR在亚齐的供应链可持续性方法。


1. 负责任采购流程的可持续性绩效评估

这是我们评估供应商遵守我们的GAR社会和环境政策(GSEP)情况的第一步,了解现有的差距,并找出能力建设的着眼点。通常情况下,GAR通过现场访问进行这些评估,但由于政府在新冠疫情期间实施的旅行限制,这些访问在2020年暂时停止。在此期间,我们通过SMART REACH(居家远程参与、评估和电话会议)项目,将评估转向线上方式。自2015年以来,GAR参观了供应商的运营或者采访了超多50%供应商的员工。

截至2022年第一季度,我们在亚齐的23家供应商已经全部完成并提交了供应商自我评估表。根据评估情况,我们认为需要组织能力建设研讨会来更新他们的技能和知识。今年在亚齐举行的研讨会宣布,GAR正在恢复与供应商进行面对面接触和举办研讨会的做法。

2. 种植园可追溯性(TTP)为供应商工厂提供指导

可追溯性和透明度使我们能够确定原材料的来源。通过对农民开展可持续农业活动的培训,获得这些信息有助于我们追踪和纠正供应链上的弱点和挑战。TTP在减少森林砍伐方面发挥着关键作用。它帮助我们提醒各家工厂,从最近有毁林历史的种植公司采购所涉及的风险。

GAR收到我们在亚齐经营的23家供应商工厂的季度TTP声明。可追溯性的比率已从2019年的36%提高到2021年的97%。因此,我们了解97%的新鲜水果串的来源。

在这23家工厂中,有11家已经注册参与了我们的Ksatria Sawit项目,这一项目帮助这些工厂更深入挖掘供应链,识别个体小农户并绘制相应地图。迄今为止,亚齐有11,458名小农户在我们的数据库中登记。

此外,我们在亚齐和其他省份的整个供应链中有70家工厂注册参与了我们的Ksatria Sawit项目。到2021年底,我们的数据库中记录了大约118,000名小农户。

TTP加强了我们对供应链的控制能力,以确保我们的炼油厂没有砍伐森林的毛棕榈油供应。

3. 申诉处理和利益相关者参与纠正供应链问题

这是供应链转型的一个重要组成部分,要求企业注意并确保在一旦发现价值链上的缺陷后立马采取相关补救措施。

在过去五年中,我们的国际利益相关者之一雨林行动网络(RAN)确定了至少六家有森林砍伐历史的种植公司,这些公司可能与我们在贝拉旺炼油厂的原材料供应工厂有关联。收到RAN的申诉信息后,GAR部署了一个团队调查工厂的采购行为,并对已确认的种植园公司进行尽职调查。根据调查结果,我们决定停止从这些种植公司采购,直到它们能够证明自己遵守不砍伐森林的承诺。这些干预措施对我们的供应链产生了积极影响,提高了我们作为负责任棕榈油生产商的声誉。

这六家种植公司中的四家是Laot Bangko、Agra Bumi Niaga、Indo Sawit Perkasa和Due Perkasa Lestari,它们已经暂停新的种植园开发或者已承诺不砍伐森林。如今,GAR正在使用高科技卫星图像工具监测这些公司特许经营区内剩余的森林。

这只是GAR如何回应反馈的一个例子,是打造可持续供应链努力的一部分。

4. 通过能力建设实现持久供应链转型

如果我们能够实现并维持一个强大而负责任的价值链,那么塑造和加强我们供应链上所有参与者的能力至关重要。这包括通过可持续和负责任的农业实践培训和授权我们的小农。

大多数供应商没有预算和资源。尤其是在亚齐,鲜果串供应链主要由小型独立经营的工厂和成千上万小农户组成。自2015年以来,我们在亚齐举办了19次能力建设研讨会。就像我们今年4月举办的研讨会一样,这些课程传授认证、安全、保护和可追溯性等核心可持续能力。

我们与Koltiva和Mars等合格的合作伙伴合作,他们帮助我们培训了1,363名小农户,使他们掌握良好的农业生产方法和可持续性实践。未来,我们计划每年至少投资两次面对面的研讨会。我们的目标是到2022年底培训3千名小农户。

5. 有效报告框架获得持续进展

对我们的努力进行评估,并向我们的利益相关者传达我们的进展,以便他们了解我们在砍伐森林和泥炭领域的持续承诺,这些工作非常重要。GAR的报告工具就是无森林砍伐、无泥炭扩张和无剥削实施报告框架(NDPE IRF),这一工具帮助我们的利益相关者追踪我们在无森林砍伐承诺方面的进展。此报告根据NDPE实施报告框架,分享我们炼油厂采购概况的信息。

在这份报告中,利益相关者可以根据不同绩效水平查看毛棕榈油所占的百分比:

  • 绿色的“交付”状态表示生产符合我们的无砍伐森林承诺。例如,GAR工厂属于这一类。
  • “承诺和开始行动”是指工厂承诺不砍伐森林,但最近才开始实施其验证系统。例如,Laot Bangko、Agra Bumi Niaga、Indo Sawit Perkasa和Due Perkasa Lestari这四家种植公司就属于这一类。
无森林砍伐:我们位于贝拉旺的炼油厂(CPO)生产水平的进展
无森林砍伐:我们位于贝拉旺的炼油厂(CPO)生产水平的进展

以下是我们在贝拉旺炼油厂所做的努力的的图表:

  • 不砍伐森林努力的“交付”百分比有所提高,从2020年的53%上升到2021年的63%。
  • 在无泥炭承诺方面,我们的成果从2020年的64%提高到了2021的9%。

了解了这些炼油厂的溯源情况后,我们可以根据它们的业绩决定如何集中资源。

持续监测和评估是实现可持续发展目标的关键。通过合作方式,我们可以成功评估供应商对可持续发展标准的遵守情况,教育和激励他们实施相关的负责任做法,并随着时间的推移,确保棕榈油行业内的供应链转型。

GAR在确保棕榈供应链的可持续转型方面发挥着积极作用。在此处了解更多信息。

如果您想详细了解GAR对可持续性的承诺,请点击此处阅读。

通过在此处订阅我们的每月电子报,了解最新的可追溯性进展。

fb twitter linkedin mail

menu bar
close-grey

Building a traceable, deforestation-free supply chain in Aceh

Posted: Oct 20, 2022 6 minute read GAR 174 views

A sustainable supply chain is an outcome of a collaborative effort that ensures all actors play their part along the value chain. As a responsible producer, GAR invests in building our suppliers’ capacity to improve their sustainability performance. Earlier this year, we partnered with our industry peer, Musim Mas, to train 55 supplier representatives (including factory workers, traders and farmers) in the Aceh province to ensure:

  • They comply with our no-deforestation commitment
  • They can achieve the Indonesian Sustainable Palm Oil (ISPO) certification programme
  • They implement Traceability to Plantation (TTP)
Capacity-building workshop
In April 2022, GAR and Musim Mas hosted a capacity-building workshop to train 55 supplier representatives (including factory workers, traders and farmers) in the Aceh province.

Aceh is home to one of the richest tropical rainforests in Southeast Asia – Gunung Leuser National Park (GLNP) – and other protected forest areas. It also supports several companies that supply crude palm oil to the international supply chain. In a recent documentary on Netflix – Our Great National Parks – we see former American President Barack Obama tells us about this biodiversity-rich forest. All this makes it a top priority for palm oil producers to build a sustainable supply chain that protects and conserves these forests and their rich biodiversity.

GAR has and will continue to prioritise our efforts in this region by engaging closely with our suppliers and educating them about responsible practices. We believe that a logical and effective way to transform our supply chain is to partner with our suppliers and incentivise implementing sustainable methods. Despite being resource-intensive and time-consuming, this approach has yielded positive results on the ground since its inception in 2015. Guided by our four pillars, sustainability performance assessment, TTP, grievance handling and stakeholder engagement, and capacity building—this approach assures our key customers and stakeholders of our commitment to supply chain transformation.

supply chain sustainability
GAR’s approach to supply chain sustainability in Aceh.


1. Sustainability performance assessment for a responsible purchasing process

This is the first step where we evaluate our suppliers’ level of compliance with our GAR Social and Environmental Policy (GSEP), understand the existing gaps, and identify capacity-building opportunities. Typically, GAR conducts these assessments through site visits, but these visits were temporarily discontinued in 2020 due to the travel restrictions imposed by the government during the COVID-19 pandemic. During this time, we transitioned to online assessments via interviews through our SMART REACH (Remote Engagement, Assessment and Conference Call from Home) programme. Since 2015, GAR has either visited the operations or interviewed the staff of more than 50 percent of our suppliers.

As of Q1 2022, 100 percent of our 23 suppliers in Aceh have completed and submitted their Supplier Self-Assessment forms. Their inputs inform us of the capacity-building workshops we need to organise to update their skills and knowledge. This year’s workshop in Aceh announced that GAR is returning to the practice of face-to-face supplier engagements and workshops.

2. Traceability to Plantation (TTP) to guide supplier mills
Traceability and transparency allow us to identify the source of our raw materials. Acquiring this information helps us trace and course-correct weaknesses and challenges along our supply chain by educating our farmers about sustainable farming practices. TTP plays a critical role in reducing deforestation. It helps us alert our mills of the risk involved in sourcing from a plantation company with a recent history of deforestation.

GAR receives quarterly TTP declarations from our 23 supplier mills operating in Aceh. Their efforts to ensure traceability has improved from 36 percent in 2019 to 97 percent in 2021. As a result, we know the origin of 97 percent of our fresh fruit bunches.

Among these 23 mills, 11 have already signed up for our Ksatria Sawit programme, which assists these mills in digging deeper into the supply chain and identifying and mapping the individual smallholders. So far, 11,458 smallholders in Aceh have been registered in our database.

Also, 70 mills have registered for our Ksatria Sawit Programme across our entire supply chain in Aceh and other provinces. By the end of 2021, around 118,000 smallholders were recorded in our database.

Thanks to TTP, we can exercise control over our supply chain to ensure a no-deforestation supply of crude palm oil into our refinery.

3. Grievance handling and stakeholder engagement to remedy supply chain issues
This is an important part of supply chain transformation that requires businesses to take heed of and ensure that relevant remedial action is taken once they have identified a drawback along the value chain.

Over the past five years, one of our International stakeholders, Rainforest Action Network (RAN), identified at least six plantation companies with a history of deforestation and who can potentially be linked to the mills supplying raw materials to our refinery in Belawan. Upon receiving the grievance information from RAN, GAR deployed a team to investigate the mills’ sourcing practices and also run due diligence on the plantation companies that had been identified. Based on our investigations, we decided to stop buying from these plantation companies until they could demonstrate their no-deforestation commitment. These interventions have positively impacted our supply chain and reputation as a responsible palm oil producer.

Four of the six plantation companies – Laot Bangko, Agra Bumi Niaga, Indo Sawit Perkasa, and Due Perkasa Lestari – have adopted either a moratorium on new plantation development or a no-deforestation commitment. Today, GAR is using a high-tech satellite imagery tool to monitor the remaining forests inside the concessions of these companies.

This is just one of the examples of how GAR responds to feedback as part of its efforts to build a sustainable supply chain.

4. Capacity building to achieve lasting supply chain transformation
Building and strengthening the capabilities of all the players along our supply chain is essential if we achieve and sustain a robust and responsible value chain. This includes training and empowering our smallholder farmers with sustainable and responsible farming practices.

Most suppliers don’t have the budget and resources. Especially in Aceh, the fresh fruit bunch supply chain consists of mostly small-sized, independently operated mills and tens of thousands of smallholders. Since 2015, we have conducted 19 capacity-building workshops in Aceh. Like the workshop we hosted in April this year, these sessions teach core sustainability competencies like certification, safety, conservation, and traceability, among others.

We have collaborated with qualified partners – like Koltiva and Mars – who have helped us train 1,363 smallholders in good agricultural and sustainability practices. In the future, we plan to invest in at least two face-to-face workshops a year. We aim to train 3,000 smallholders by the end of 2022.

5. An effective reporting framework for ongoing progress
It is important to evaluate our efforts and convey our progress to our stakeholders so they remain informed of our ongoing commitment in the area of deforestation and peat. GAR’s reporting tool – the No Deforestation, No Expansion on Peat and No Exploitation Implementation Reporting Framework (NDPE IRF) – helps our stakeholders track our progress in our no-deforestation commitment. This report shares information on our refinery sourcing profiles per the NDPE Implementation Reporting Framework.

In this report, stakeholders can see the different percentages of crude palm oil volume by their performance level:

  • A ‘delivering’ status in green represents production verified as compliant with our no-deforestation commitment. For example, GAR mills fall in this category.
  • ‘Commitment and starting action’ represent production where the mill has committed to a no-deforestation commitment but has recently begun implementing its verification system. For example, the four plantation companies, Laot Bangko, Agra Bumi Niaga, Indo Sawit Perkasa and Due Perkasa Lestari, fall in this category.
No deforestation
No deforestation: Progress at the production level at our refinery (CPO) in Belawan.

Here’s a graph that reports our efforts at our refinery in Belawan:

  • The percentage of ‘delivering’ under our no-deforestation efforts has improved, from 53 percent in 2020 to 63 percent in 2021.
  • Under our no-peat efforts, our results have bettered from 64 percent in 2020 to 83.9 percent in 2021.

These refinery sourcing profiles guide us on where to focus our resources based on the performance of our refineries.

Ongoing monitoring and assessments are key to achieving sustainability goals. Through a collaborative approach, we can successfully assess our suppliers’ compliance with sustainability standards, educate and incentivise them to implement the relevant responsible practices, and over time, ensure supply chain transformation within the palm oil industry.

GAR plays an active role in ensuring the sustainable transformation of the palm supply chain. Learn more here.

If you want to learn more about GAR’s commitment to sustainability, read here.

Stay up-to-date with latest in traceability by subscribing to our monthly newsletter here.

fb twitter linkedin mail