menu bar
close-grey

棕榈油:合作共赢还是一纸禁令?

Posted: Apr 20, 2022 less than 1 minute read GAR 961 views
Iceland switch back to palm oil
图片来源: The Grocer

多年来,棕榈油在食材中的应用一直有争议,大多数人并未认可它的优势。最近Iceland Foods撤销了对棕榈油的限制,再次引发了关于这个问题的讨论。这家英国零售商之前禁止使用棕榈油的做法可能过于简单化了。

正如我们所知,由于疫情、地区冲突和气候变化等不利因素,供应链岌岌可危。如果供应链中断,负责任的买方应该转向可持续生产的替代品。很不幸的是,Iceland Foods未能投资经认证的可持续棕榈油生产。它之前妖魔化了这种作物,现在发现自己对于棕榈处于不得不“后空翻”的尴尬境地。

讽刺的是,Iceland Foods现在正不情愿地转向经认证的可持续棕榈油,才能让自己的食品供应不断货。如果采用可持续种植的方式,棕榈油不仅是地球的最佳选择,而且会为Iceland Foods的食品带来诸多优势,否则它们将会边缘化。

棕榈油本质上是一种不含反式脂肪食材的成分,具有预防多种疾病的营养品质。它是从油棕榈树的果实中提取的,与其他食用油相比,油棕榈树需要的土地要少得多,单位土地产油量最高。是时候对这种食材刮目相看,让它恢复本应具有的地位了。

更健康的选择
从营养和健康角度,棕榈油有一系列的优点。它富含β-胡萝卜素、生育酚和生育三烯酚。这些是抗氧化物质维生素E的成分,能够强化免疫系统、预防心脏病和神经退行性病变,并降低患癌症的风险

这种非转基因植物油在室温下自然呈现半固态,不需要部分氢化(部分氢化会产生反式脂肪酸),而如果用葵花籽油或玉米油制作人造黄油,这一过程不可避免。这使得棕榈油天然不含反式脂肪。。根据世界卫生组织(WHO)的数据,反式脂肪或反式脂肪酸是不饱和脂肪酸,会使各种原因的死亡风险增加34%和冠心病风险增加21%。美国心脏协会(AHA)的研究表明,反式脂肪酸也会增加2型糖尿病的风险。

在GAR,我们一直致力创造无反式脂肪的健康选择。我们位于Marunda的下游产品研发部门正在研究棕榈食品的营养价值。通过消除工业反式脂肪酸使饮食更健康是他们当前的研究重点之一。

棕榈油是世界上最节约资源的食用油!
据估计,到 2050 年将有 100 亿人需要被养活。为了养活这么多人,我们需要增产2.0025亿吨植物油。这些油从哪里来?如果采用生产豆油的方式,将需要4亿公顷农田。而棕榈油只需要5400万公顷农田就可以满足这一额外的粮食需求,这是多么大的优势。实际上:

  • 每生产一吨葵花籽油,我们需要1.16公顷的土地。
  • 每生产1吨菜籽油,我们需要1.26公顷的土地。
  • 每生产1吨大豆油需要1.95公顷的土地。
  • 每生产1吨棕榈油则只需要0.32公顷的土地。

油棕榈树每公顷的平均产量是任何其他食用植物油作物的五倍并且需要最少的肥料和杀虫剂)。因此,它是世界上资源效率最高的植物油!

如今,油棕占世界植物油产量的35%,所占用的土地只有油籽作物全部土地的8%。这使得棕榈油的资源效率大大高于其他植物油。在一个正迅速耗尽土地和水等资源的世界中,改用棕榈油可能会产生巨大的变化。

棕榈油是可持续和负责任的
棕榈油可持续的生产确保了供应链各个层面的环境合规性,而且它也向消费者保证了最终产品的健康和安全消费。。然而,Iceland Foods的Richard Walker最近公开表示,不存在可持续生产的棕榈油。GAR不同意这个观点。我们耗费了几十年的时间来确保我们的生产过程是可持续的。从可持续的种子采购到符合环境要求的种植方法,GAR确保我们的最终产品是“负责任地生产的”。我们重视保护生态和环境的必要性。作为自1997年以来第一家采取零燃烧策略的印尼棕榈油公司,我们已经停止使用传统的刀耕火种的种植方法。透明度和可追溯性是这些可持续发展努力的关键要素,可确保纸上的内容在现实中实现。

我们于 2015 年推出的 GAR 社会与环境政策 (GSEP) 体现了我们的信念,即环境保护、经济增长和社会进步可以,而且应该齐头并进。

我们还积极行动,帮助村庄和农村社区发展医疗保健、儿童日托中心、学校等便利设施,改善他们的生活质量。我们不断努力教育儿童,提高妇女的技能,并提供农业技巧方面的指导,我们成为这些村庄负责任的企业邻居,帮助减少农村贫困,促进社会经济发展。

马来西亚棕榈油委员会(MPOB)总干事拿督Ahmad Parveez Ghulam Kadir回应Iceland Foods的态度转变,指出如果Iceland Foods确实希望促进环境可持续性,它应该倡导使用经认证的可持续棕榈油,而不是禁止其在所有自有品牌食品中使用,因为这显然并不能解决问题。

这与GAR的观点产生了强烈的共鸣。我们需要携手共进,而不是简单抵制。我们的众多客户选择从GAR购买棕榈油,是因为他们希望投资并支持这个行业的可持续转型。事实上,如果更多的人认识到可持续生产棕榈油带来的好处,将为人类和地球带来深远影响。

我们是一家一体化的企业,可以根据需求定制安全优质的棕榈油产品。在这里了解更多信息。

如果您想了解GAR产品和服务的更多信息,请点击此处阅读。

通过在此处订阅我们的每月电子报,了解最新的可追溯性进展。

fb twitter linkedin mail

menu bar
close-grey

Palm oil: A Boon or a Ban?

Posted: Apr 20, 2022 5 minute read GAR 815 views
Image Source: The Grocer

Over the years, palm oil has been regarded as a controversial ingredient, and its advantages have mainly remained unrecognised. But the recent reversal of Iceland Foods’ ban on palm oil has again fuelled a discussion on this subject. It might have been a tad simplistic for the UK retailer to have banned this ingredient, for starters.

As we have learnt, supply chains are prone to be disrupted whether due to a global pandemic, regional conflict, or climate change. When supply chain disruptions happen, responsible buyers should be able to switch to a sustainably produced alternative. Unfortunately, Iceland Foods failed to invest in the certified sustainable production of palm oil. It demonised the crop and now finds itself in the embarrassing position of having to “backflip” on palm.

Ironically, Iceland Foods is now reluctantly turning to certified sustainable palm oil to keep French fries in its freezers. Because palm oil, when sustainably grown, is not only an excellent choice for the planet but it also offers tangible health benefits for the otherwise “occasional choice” foods Iceland Foods is renowned for.

Palm oil is inherently a trans-fat-free ingredient with nutritional qualities protecting against several diseases. It is extracted from the fruits of the oil palm trees that require significantly lesser land than other edible oils to produce the maximum oil per unit of land. Perhaps it is time we gave this ingredient a fresh look and, of course, its rightful status.

It is a much healthier option
Palm oil carries a list of pluses when offering nutrition and health benefits. It is a rich source of beta-carotene and contains tocopherols and tocotrienols. These are constituents of the antioxidant Vitamin E that supports the immune system, prevents heart diseases and neurodegeneration, and lowers the risk of cancer.

This non-GMO vegetable oil is semi-solid in its naturally-occurring form at room temperature, eliminating the need for partial hydrogenation (which is what causes trans-fatty acids to form), as is necessary in the case of sunflower or corn oil while making margarine. This makes palm oil naturally trans-fat-free. According to the World Health Organisation (WHO), trans fat or trans-fatty acids are unsaturated fatty acids that increase the risk of death from any cause by 34 percent and coronary heart diseases by 21 percent. According to the American Heart Association (AHA), trans-fat is also associated with a higher risk of developing type 2 diabetes.

At Golden Agri-Resources (GAR), we are constantly working towards creating trans-fat-free healthy options. Our Downstream Research and Development department based in Marunda is working on the nutritional aspects of palm-based food products. Its current focus includes making diets healthier by eliminating industrial trans-fatty acids.

It is the most resource-efficient oil in the world!
It is estimated that by 2050 there will be 10 billion people to feed. To feed these many people, we will need an extra 200.25 million tons of vegetable oil. Where will all this oil come from? Say we decide to produce soybean oil to meet this need, then we will need 400 million hectares of farmland. Palm oil, on the other hand, will only require 54 million hectares of farmland to meet this additional requirement of food. In fact:

  • To produce one tonne (T) of sunflower oil, we require 1.16 hectares (ha) of land.
  • To produce 1T of rapeseed oil, we require 1.26 ha of land.
  • Producing 1T of soybean oil requires 1.95 ha of land.
  • Palm oil requires only 0.32 ha of land to produce the same quantity of oil.

Oil palm trees provide an average of five times more yield-per-hectare than any other edible vegetable oil crop (and require the least fertiliser and pesticides). As a result, it is the most resource-efficient vegetable oil in the world!

Today, oil palm accounts for 35 percent of world production of vegetable oil while relying on just 8 percent of the global land allocated to oilseed crops. This makes palm oil far more resource-efficient than its vegetable oil counterparts. Switching to palm oil could make a huge difference in a world that is swiftly heading towards exhausting its resources like land and water.

It is sustainable and responsible
Sustainable production ensures environmental compliance at every level of the supply chain, even as it assures consumers a final product that is healthy and safe to consume. However, Richard Walker of Iceland Foods recently went on record to say that there is no such thing as sustainably produced palm oil. GAR disagrees. We’ve spent decades working on ensuring that our production process is carried out sustainably. From the sustainable sourcing of seeds to environmentally compliant cultivation methods, GAR ensures that our final product is “responsibly produced”. We emphasise the need to protect the ecology and the environment. As the first Indonesian palm oil company to adopt a Zero Burning Policy since 1997, we have stopped using traditional slash and burn cultivation methods. Transparency and traceability are crucial elements of these sustainability efforts that ensure what has been put on paper is actualised on the ground.

Our GAR Social and Environmental Policy (GSEP), launched in 2015, embodies our belief in the idea that environmental protection, economic growth, and social progress can and should go hand-in-hand.

We have taken an active role in helping villages and rural communities with better access to amenities like healthcare, day-care centres for children, schools, etc., to ensure them a better quality of life. Through our ongoing efforts of educating children, upgrading the skills of women, and offering guidance in farming methods, we serve as a responsible corporate neighbour to these villages and help reduce rural poverty and boost socio-economic development.

Responding to Iceland Food’s change of heart, Malaysian Palm Oil Board (MPOB) director-general (DG) Datuk Ahmad Parveez Ghulam Kadir pointed out that if the retailer was really promoting environmental sustainability, it would advocate the use of certified sustainable palm oil rather than ban it from all its own-brand foods since the latter does not solve the issue.

This resonates strongly with GAR’s perspective. We need buy-cotts not boycotts. Our customers choose to purchase palm oil from GAR because they want to invest in and support the sustainable transformation of the sector. In fact, if more people recognised the list of pluses that sustainably produced palm oil brings to the table, more good could be delivered for people and the planet.

As a fully integrated business, we can customise safe and high-quality palm oil products. Reach out to find out more.

If you would like to find out more about GAR’s Products & Services, read here.

Stay up-to-date with latest in traceability by subscribing to our monthly newsletter here.

fb twitter linkedin mail