menu bar
close-grey

棕榈油在2022年的趋势有哪些?

Posted: Dec 28, 2021 less than 1 minute read GAR 1453 views

由于COVID-19疫情,过去两年对企业来说是充满挑战的时期。尽管疫情尚未结束,但有了疫苗和加强剂的洞察力,隧道尽头至少还有一丝曙光——同时希望2022年会更好。

随着2021年接近尾声,现在是审视来年需要关注的四种棕榈油趋势的最佳时机。

1. 2021年相比,预计2022年棕榈油产量将增加

自1980年以来,印度尼西亚和马来西亚一直主导着全球棕榈油生产。根据2020年的数据,印度尼西亚占总产量的60%,而马来西亚则占24%,它们合计占全球棕榈油供应的 84%。

2022年棕榈油产量的预测是什么?据《油世界》报道,棕榈油、葵花籽油、豆油和菜籽油这四种植物油的全球产量预计在2021/2022年增加700万吨,即是四年来的最高增长。

印尼油棕研究所(IOPRI)证实,明年印尼棕油产量将呈现积极趋势。该报告称,2022年全国原棕油产量将增长2.1%至4940万吨,而2021年估计为4840万吨。

2. 植物性食物和饮食呈上升趋势

在过去的几年里,越来越多的消费者选择植物性食物和饮食。这种转变是由日益增强的健康意识和环境意识所推动的。植物性食品协会的数据显示,美国植物性食品的销售额在2020年增长了27%,总市值达到70亿美元。

植物性产品的快速增长和普及使得中国印度日本美国等国家实施了有关植物性产品的法规。根据我们的分析,这些国家有类似的概括规定——产品不含任何动物源性成分,所有成分都应符合相关法规或食品安全标准。在标签上,每个国家都有不同的要求。例如,中国要求在产品名称中包含“植物”或“植物基”等字样。 同时,日本要求原材料名称上标注其通用名称。如果食品是由大豆制成的,则将使用“大豆”作为原料名称。

margarine testing
在我们的Marunda研发中心进行人造黄油测试。

Golden Agri-Resources (GAR) 不仅专注于提高该领域的产量,而且还致力于为我们的消费者创造更好的食品。随着我们看到市场上对植物性食品越来越感兴趣,我们的研发团队有了满足这些要求的新概念。我们的Marunda研发中心还使我们能够开发以植物为基础的、更健康的小吃食品,对我们的最终消费者来说既美味又营养。

3. 欧盟关于可追溯性的立法

多年来,可追溯性一直是许多农业商品供应链中许多参与者的愿望清单。2021年的11月,欧盟委员会提出了一项要求,要求欧洲森林砍伐风险商品的运营商和贸易商实现并提交每批货物的种植园或农场的可追溯性。欧盟打算实施无森林砍伐的商品供应链,以保护世界森林、减少温室气体 (GHG) 排放和生物多样性丧失。如果各方在2023年初同意该提案,该立法将于2024年生效。其实不仅欧盟,英国和美国也在准备立法,以解决与农业商品生产相关的森林砍伐问题。

GAR致力于遵守我们的 GAR 社会和环境政策 (GSEP),以确保我们的棕榈油业务无森林砍伐、可追溯并赋予社会和社区权力。所有第三方供应商也必须遵守该政策。在过去几年中,我们一直在与供应商合作完成我们的种植园可追溯性 (TTP) 项目。迄今为止,我们的棕榈供应链已实现95%的完全TTP

4. 印度尼西亚在COP26上的承诺

在今年的COP26上,印度尼西亚总统佐科·维多多 (Jokowi) 宣布印度尼西亚承诺到2030年前将其森林和土地利用 (FOLU) 部门转变为净碳汇。

为帮助实现这一承诺,佐科总统于10月签署了关于碳经济价值的第98/2021号总统条例。该法规将引发印度尼西亚的排放交易体系、碳抵消、碳限额和税收工具以及基于结果的支付机制的发展。它还为碳项目开发商和现有和即将到来的国际碳市场的利益相关者提供纠正措施和明确性。

collecting samples
在我们的一个种植园收集用于温室气体排放研究的样本。

GAR 将气候行动视为优先事项,我们支持印度尼西亚政府到2030年前实现FOLU碳净汇。我们意识到土地利用变化和耕作造成的排放是对任何农业企业最重要的影响之一。我们为避免排放做出贡献的其中一种方式是维护78,000公顷的高碳储量 (HCS) 和高保护价值 (HCV) 区域。自2020年初起,我们还实施了包膜尿素肥料的使用,进一步为温室气体减排做出了贡献。

COVID-19疫情改变了我们的工作方式。在GAR,我们必须快速适应当前形势,并不断改进我们的进度,以实现我们的目标并转变我们的供应链。我们投资了技术和在线工具来继续实施我们的计划。在线网络研讨会和 SMART REACH(SMART Remote Engagement, Assessment and Conference (call) from Home)就是其中的一些例子。有了正确的系统,我们相信我们可以实现我们朝着更可持续的棕榈油行业发展的目标。

点击此处阅读我们最新的可持续发展报告,以了解我们的可持续发展进展和未来承诺。

通过在此处订阅我们的每月电子报,了解最新的可追溯性进展。

fb twitter linkedin mail

menu bar
close-grey

What are the palm oil trends to watch in 2022?

Posted: Dec 28, 2021 4 minute read GAR 1081 views

The past two years have been a challenging time for businesses due to the COVID-19 pandemic. While the COVID-19 pandemic is not yet ended, with a vaccine and booster insight, there is at least a light at the end of the tunnel—along with the hope that 2022 will be better.

As 2021 draws to a close, there is no better time to look at the four palm oil trends to watch in the coming year.

1. A stronger palm oil production is expected in 2022 compared to 2021

Indonesia and Malaysia have dominated the global palm oil production since 1980. Based on 2020 data, Indonesia accounts for 60 percent of output and Malaysia accounts for 24 percent, which collectively account for 84 percent of the global palm oil supply.

What is the 2022 prediction for palm oil production? According to Oil World, the global production of the four vegetable oils—palm oil, sunflower oil, soybean oil, and rapeseed oil, is estimated to increase by seven million tonnes in 2021/2022, the highest growth in four years.

Indonesia Oil Palm Research Institute’s (IOPRI) confirms that Indonesian palm oil output will show a positive trend for next year. It reports that national CPO output will rise by 2.1 percent to 49.4 million tonnes in 2022 compared to an estimated 48.4 million tonnes in 2021.

2. Plant-based foods and diets on the rise

Over the last few years, more and more consumers are choosing plant-based food and diets. This shift is driven by increasing health-consciousness and environmental awareness. Data by the Plant-Based Foods Association shows that the sales of plant-based food in the United States increased 27 percent in 2020 and bringing the total market value to US$7 billion.

The rapid growth and popularity of plant-based products have made countries like China, India, Japan, and the USA, implement regulations concerning plant-based products. Based on our analysis, those countries have similar general requirements—the product does not contain any animal-derived ingredients and all ingredients should comply with the relevant regulations or food safety standards. On labelling, each country has different requirements. For example, China requires to include the words “plant” or “plant-based”, etc on the product’s name. Meanwhile, Japan requires the raw materials’ name to be labelled with its common name. If the food is made from soybeans, “soybeans” will be used as the raw material’s name.

margarine testing
Margarine testing at our Marunda R&D Centre.

Golden Agri-Resources (GAR) not only focuses on increasing yields in the field but also works to create better food products for our consumers. As we have seen an increased interest in plant-based foods in the market, our R&D team has new concepts to meet these requirements. Our Marunda R&D Centre also allows us to develop plant-based, healthier versions of snack foods, which are both delicious and nutritious for our end consumers.

3. EU legislation on traceability

Traceability has been on the wish-list of many actors in many agri-commodity supply chains for years. In November 2021, the EU Commission proposed a requirement for European operators and traders of deforestation-risk commodities to achieve and submit traceability to plantation or farm plots for each shipment. The EU intends to implement deforestation-free commodity supply chains to protect the world’s forests, reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions and biodiversity loss. If all parties agree with the proposal by early 2023, the legislation will enter into effect in 2024. Not just the EU, the UK and USA are also preparing legislation to address deforestation linked to agri-commodity production.

GAR is committed to ensuring that our palm oil operations are deforestation-free, traceable and empowering society and communities in line with our GAR Social and Environmental Policy (GSEP). All third-party suppliers are required to comply with the policy as well. In the last few years, we have been working with our suppliers to complete our Traceability to the Plantation (TTP) project. To date, we have achieved 95 percent full TTP for our palm supply chain.

4. Indonesia pledges at COP26

At the COP26 this year, the President of Indonesia Joko Widodo (Jokowi) announced Indonesia’s commitment to transforming its forest and land-use (FOLU) sector into a net carbon sink by 2030.

To help realise this commitment, President Jokowi signed the Presidential Regulation Number 98/2021 on the Economic Value of Carbon in October. The regulation will trigger the development of an emissions trading system, carbon offset, carbon cap-and-tax instrument, and result-based payment mechanism in Indonesia. It also provides corrective measures and clarity for carbon project developers and stakeholders of existing and upcoming international carbon markets.

collecting samples
Collecting samples for GHG emission study at one of our plantations.

GAR sees climate action as a priority and we support the Indonesian Government in achieving FOLU carbon net sink by 2030. We recognise that emissions resulting from land-use change and cultivation are among the most significant impacts for any agribusiness. One way we are contributing to the avoidance of emissions is through the conservation of 78,000 hectares of High Carbon Stock (HCS) and High Conservation Value (HCV) areas. Since early 2020, we have also implemented the use of coated urea fertiliser, which further contributes to GHG emissions reduction.

COVID-19 pandemic has changed our ways of working. At GAR, we have to quickly adapt with the current situation and continuously improve our progress to achieve our targets and transform our supply chain. We have invested technology and online tools to continue implementing our initiatives. Online webinars and SMART REACH (SMART Remote Engagement, Assessment and Conference (call) from Home) are some of the examples. With the right system in place, we believe that we can achieve our goals towards a more sustainable palm oil industry.

Read about our sustainability progress and future commitments in our latest Sustainability Report here.

Stay up-to-date with latest in traceability by subscribing to our monthly newsletter here.

fb twitter linkedin mail