menu bar
close-grey

一份包含一些非常特殊的员工贡献的可持续发展报告

Posted: Jul 02, 2021 less than 1 minute read Lim Shu Ling 1061 views

又到了每一年的那个时候,当可持续发展报告 (SR) 被安顿并出版时,我松了一口气。通常,SR包含大量关于我们可持续发展承诺的数据和更新。然而,今年我想强调我们员工的一些非常特殊的贡献。

SR2020 包含一个名为“棕榈油行业的大自然”的主题。它展示了工作人员在种植园、社区、保护区、植物和办公室拍摄的精选照片。这些照片是去年为公司所有业务的员工举办的竞赛的参赛作品。

作为SR2020的编辑,我与 Golden Agri-Resources (GAR) 的Head of Branding & Production——Karen Teh以及我们的外部设计团队合作完成了该筛选。当我浏览入围名单的800多张照片时,让我印象深刻的一件事是,我们的工作人员如何设法捕捉到种植区内外存在的美丽多样的动植物群。

“我们想出了举办摄影比赛的想法,以一种有趣、轻松的方式吸引员工,特别是考虑到全球疫情的失控。这个比赛的反响很热烈,我们被数百张照片淹没。这些照片通过员工的视角让我们对公司及其在所在地所做的事情有一个独特的看法。”Karen说道。

Antigonon leptopus 或 Bridal Tears——这种植物有助于在害虫和捕食者之间保持平衡,减少使用化学品的需要(摄影者:Ricki Hamdani Sinaga)

监控保护区的员工拍摄了许多有趣和引人注目的彩色青蛙、蝴蝶、鸟类、蛇和昆虫、花卉和其他植物(除了油棕以外)的图像。其中一些已包含在该筛选中。对我来说,这证明尽管棕榈油种植园因为栖息地和生态系统的大规模地破坏而受到下意识的批评,但其实保育生物多样性和森林是可能的,并且正在实地发生。

在监测 HCV区域期间观察到的不同动物群(摄影者:Nugroho Prasetyo Winasis)

成功的森林和生物多样性保育

这得到了我们最新数据的支持。目前,GAR直接参与并间接鼓励保护超过220,000公顷的保护区。这包括高碳储量 (HCS) 和高保护价值 (HCV) 区域。 这些地区包括GAR特许权中的森林、供应商保护区以及与GAR合作的社区已同意留出用于保护的区域。这证明了我们对 GAR 社会和环境政策 (GSEP)中概述的保护的长期承诺。它也是多年来与合作伙伴合作成功的指标。

特别值得一提的是,我们已经帮助我们的许多供应商加强和规范了他们关于NDPE或禁止砍伐森林、禁止泥炭和禁止开发的政策。自从我们开始与供应商合作以来,其中至少有17家进行了HCS和HCV评估,这要求他们在资源承诺方面付出更多努力。这是我们所谓的“供应链转型”的一部分,我们正在与供应链的完整映射一起进行。截至2020年底,我们的整个棕榈供应链实现了90% 的种植园完全可追溯性(TTP),截至 2021 年第一季度实现了94%。这包括迄今为止在我们拥有超过 100,000 名小农注册了Ksatria Sawit计划,该计划旨在加速二级供应商之间的 TTP。所有这些都将使我们能够接触更多的供应商,例如小农,帮助他们成为更负责任和更可持续的生产者、还将了解并采用森林和生物多样性保护原则的生产者。

Traceability to the Plantation for palm supply chain interrupted due to the pandemic
截至2020年底,GAR拥有的工厂和第三方供应商实现了90% 的 TTP。

SR2020中的照片显示,与普遍看法相反,棕榈油种植园并不是没有动物、昆虫和其他植物的单一沙漠。相反,它们表明,由于我们的可持续发展承诺,许多物种仍然生活在地面上并受到保护——我们正在努力将这些承诺传播到我们的供应链中。

最后,我很高兴地补充说,由于我们员工的强烈兴趣和需求,摄影比赛很可能成为一年一度的活动。我期待着展示更多来自现场的有趣照片,这些照片是由自豪地展示他们的工作和工作场所的员工拍摄的。

游览公司的 Instagram帐户以查看所有照片竞赛参赛作品。



Lim Shu Ling
关于作者:
Lim Shu Ling自 2015 年起在GAR开始工作。她负责监督公司年度可持续发展报告的编制和发布。她还处理GAR在各种国际平台上的ESG披露和报告,其中包括 DJSI、FTSE4Good、CDP、Sustainalytics、SPOTT 等。她与投资者关系和财务部门密切合作,向财务利益相关者介绍GAR的ESG表现。

通过在此处订阅我们的每月电子报,了解最新的可追溯性进展。

fb twitter linkedin mail

menu bar
close-grey

A Sustainability Report with some very special employee contributions

Posted: Jul 02, 2021 4 minute read Lim Shu Ling 1167 views

It’s that time of the year again when I heave a sigh of relief as the Sustainability Report (SR) is put to bed and published. Normally, the SR contains a plethora of data and updates on our sustainability commitments. However, this year I want to highlight some very special contributions from our staff.

The SR2020 contains a special feature entitled “Nature in the Palm Oil Industry”. It showcases a selection of photos taken by staff members in the plantations, the communities, conservation areas, plants, and offices. These photos were submitted as entries in a competition held last year for the company’s employees across all operations.

As editor of the SR2020, I worked with Karen Teh, Head of Branding & Production at Golden Agri-Resources (GAR), and our external design team to put together the feature. One thing that struck me as I looked through the 800-odd photos that made the shortlist, was how our staff had managed to capture the beautiful and diverse flora and fauna that exist in and alongside plantation areas.

“We came up with the idea to hold the photo competition as a way to engage employees in a fun, light-hearted way especially given the craziness of the global pandemic. The response was overwhelming and we were inundated with hundreds of photos. The photos give us a unique view of our company and what it’s doing on the ground through the eyes of its employees,” said Karen.

Beautiful butterfly sitting on pink flowers
Antigonon leptopus or Bridal Tears – this plant helps  maintain a balance between pests and predators reducing  the need to use chemicals by Ricki Hamdani Sinaga

Employees who monitor conservation areas photographed many interesting and striking images of colourful frogs, butterflies, birds, snakes and insects, flowers, and other plants (aside from oil palms). Some of these have been included in the feature. To me, this is evidence that despite the knee-jerk bad rap that palm oil plantations get for the wholesale destruction of habitats and ecosystems, preserving biodiversity and conserving forests is possible and is happening on the ground.

Frog sitting on a leaf in a conservation area
Diverse fauna observed during  monitoring of HCV area by Nugroho Prasetyo Winasis

Successful forest and biodiversity conservation

This is backed up by our most recent data. Currently, GAR is both directly involved and indirectly encouraging the protection of over 220,000 hectares of conservation areas. This includes High Carbon Stock (HCS) and High Conservation Value (HCV) areas. The areas comprise forests in GAR’s concessions; supplier conservation areas; and areas that communities working together with GAR, have agreed to set aside for conservation. This is a testament to our long-standing commitment to conservation as outlined in the GAR Social and Environmental Policy (GSEP). It is also an indicator of the success of working with partners and collaborators over many years.

In particular, we are proud to report that we have helped many of our suppliers strengthen and formalise their policies on NDPE or No Deforestation, No Peat, and No Exploitation. Since we started engaging with suppliers, at least 17 of them have undertaken HCS and HCV assessments which requires them to go that extra mile in terms of resource commitment. This is part of what we term “supply chain transformation” which we are carrying out in tandem with a complete mapping of our supply chain. We achieved 90 percent full Traceability to the Plantation (TTP) for our entire palm supply chain as of end-2020 and 94 percent as of Q1 2021. This includes the registration of over 100,000 smallholders to date in our Ksatria Sawit programme, which aims to accelerate TTP amongst Tier 2 suppliers. All this will allow us to reach out to more suppliers such as smallholders to help them become more responsible, sustainable producers; producers who will also understand and adopt the principle of forest and biodiversity conservation.

Traceability to the Plantation for palm supply chain interrupted due to the pandemic
Achievement of 90 percent TTP as of end-2020 for GAR-owned mills and third-party suppliers.

The photos featured in the SR2020 show that contrary to widespread belief, palm oil plantations are not monoculture deserts devoid of animals and insects, and other plants. Rather, they show that many species still live on the ground and are being protected thanks to our sustainability commitments ― commitments which we are working hard to spread across our supply chain.

On a final note, I am happy to add that the photo competition is likely to become an annual event due to strong interest and demand from our staff. I look forward to featuring many more interesting images from the field taken by staff who are proud to showcase their work and workplace.

Visit the company’s Instagram account to take a look at all of the photo competition entries.



Lim Shu Ling
About the writer:
Lim Shu Ling has worked with GAR since 2015. She oversees the preparation and publication of the company’s annual Sustainability Report. She also handles GAR’s ESG disclosures and reporting on various international platforms including DJSI, FTSE4Good, CDP, Sustainalytics, SPOTT and others. She works closely with Investor Relations and Finance in briefing financial stakeholders on GAR’s ESG performance.

Stay up-to-date with latest in traceability by subscribing to our monthly newsletter here.

fb twitter linkedin mail