应对气候变化

气候变化可能是当今时代我们面临的一项最大的挑战。应对气候变化要求采取迅速果断的行动。GAR 致力于减少我们运营中导致气候变化的温室气体 (GHG)排放。

像所有的植物一样,油棕榈能够吸收二氧化碳并释放氧气。但是,我们意识到由于土地使用的变化和与生产棕榈油相关的耕种过程产生的温室气体排放会导致气候变化。GAR 对森林保护的承诺、泥炭地的零开发以及对焚烧的零容忍政策是我们对减少温室气体排放的最大贡献。我们还利用技术来研究和开发应对气候变化的创新方法。

气候学家主张采取双重方法来应对气候变化 — 缓解和适应。

缓解

减少温室气体排入大气中

适应

学会与已经发生的气候变化共处,并适应这种变化。

缓解措施
将棕榈油厂废水进行堆肥

温室气体排放的一个重要来源是棕榈油厂废水 (POME),即加工鲜油棕果丛 (FFB) 所排放的废水。如果不处理棕榈油厂的污水,就会排放甲烷气体。我们将棕榈油厂废水进行堆肥,作为肥料进行再利用。

沼气设施

GAR 减少温室气体排放的另一种方式是收集甲烷。我们在中加里曼丹、占碑和廖内的七家工厂建立了沼气设施,以收集废沼气。产生的沼气用作替代能源,为我们的工厂运转进行发电。

这些设施可减少现场运营甲烷排放量的 40% 至 55% 。

适应性措施

气候变化导致像厄尔尼诺这样的极端天气现象日益增多,这可能造成严重的旱灾。GAR 正在探索各类适应性措施,让我们的农业综合企业适应未来发展。

具有气候适应性的种子储备

气候变化增加了发生干旱和疾病的威胁。我们在 SMART 研究所 (SMARTRI) 和 SMART 生物技术中心的研究人员正在开发更抗旱抗病和具有更强气候适应性的种子储备。他们还在研究能更好地适应大气中较高二氧化碳含量的菌株。

管理我们的水足迹

水是我们开展业务和我们业务所在社区的重要资源。我们认识到,面对气候变化,水资源的可利用量是一个越来越重要的问题。GAR 正在制定策略来尽量减少我们的水足迹。我们现正探索如何通过使用人工智能 (AI) 等先进技术,优化我们种植园中的用水情况。

Fighting climate change

Climate change may be the biggest challenge of our times. Fighting climate change requires urgent and decisive action. Golden Agri-Resources (GAR) is committed to reducing the Greenhouse Gas (GHG) emissions – which contribute to climate change – from our operations.

Oil palms, like all plants, absorb carbon dioxide and release oxygen. Yet, we recognise that emissions resulting from land use change and cultivation associated with palm oil production such as nitrogen fertilisers contributes to climate change. GAR’s commitment to forest conservation, zero development on peatland, and our zero-tolerance policy on burning represent our biggest contributions to reducing GHG emissions. In addition, the results of our research to reduce the risk of N2O emission and NH3 volatilization related to the use of nitrogen fertilisers are also transferred into operational stringent procedures. We also harness technology to research and develop innovative ways to tackle climate change.

Climatologists advocate a two-tier approach to tackling climate change – mitigation and adaptation.

climate change
Mitigation

Reducing the flow of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere.

Adaptation

Learning to live with, and adapt to, the climate change that has already been set
in motion.

Mitigation measures
Composting POME

One significant source of GHG emissions comes from Palm Oil Mill Effluent (POME), the wastewater from processing fresh fruit bunches (FFB). POME emits methane if left untreated. We compost POME and repurpose it as fertiliser.

Biogas facilities

Another way GAR is reducing GHG emissions is through methane capture. We have built biogas facilities to capture waste methane gas at seven mills across Central Kalimantan, Jambi, and Riau. The resulting biogas is harnessed as an alternative energy source to generate electricity for our mill operations.

These facilities reduce between 40 to 55 percent of GHG emissions where they are sited.

climate change
climate change
Adaptive measures

The increasing occurrence of extreme weather phenomena like El Niño – a result of climate change – can lead to severe drought. GAR is exploring adaptive measures to future-proof our agribusiness.

climate change
Climate-resilient seed stock

Climate change increases the threat of drought and diseases. The team at SMART Research Institute (SMARTRI) is developing climate-resilient seed stock that is more drought-resistant and disease-resistant. They are also looking how oil palm seedlings are able to adapt to higher carbon dioxide content in the atmosphere. Our team from the Plant Production and Biotechnology (PPB) division is also researching additional methods to select for seeds and clones that are drought-resistant.

Managing our water footprint

Water is a vital resource for our operations and the communities where we operate. We recognise that water availability is an increasingly important issue in the face of climate change. GAR is developing strategies to minimise our water footprint. We are now exploring ways to optimise water use in our plantations, through the use of advanced technology such as Artificial Intelligence (AI).