赋予社区权力

新型冠状病毒肺炎的全球大流行说明了确保成为食品供应链和全球粮食安全基础的农业社区得到照顾和赋权至关重要。当社区获得赚取体面生活的谋生能力时,随之而来的就是贫困人口的减少。

在很多发展中国家,棕榈油就是消除贫困的同义词。在过去几十年里,棕榈油业在提高诸如印度尼西亚和马来西亚等热带发展中国家小农户的收入并改善其生活水平方面发挥了至关重要的作用。特别是在边远乡村地区生活的社区,都已经从棕榈油业的发展中大大受益。

 

 

作为印度尼西亚最大的棕榈油公司之一,GAR 认识到了棕榈油为我们种植园内及周边社区的生活和生计所带来的巨大好处。GAR 为边远乡村地区创造了成千上万的就业机会。我们在我们的所有特许经营区内都运营着一系列的社会和社区发展项目。我们还帮忙建设了各类公共基础设施,例如公路、桥梁、社区活动室及宗教场所。我们在这些社区所做的工作有助于实现各项联合国可持续发展目标,特别是消除贫困、改善基础设施和减少不平等现象。

健康

听听来自当地医生的声音:

教育

听听来自当地教师的声音:

生计

了解社区如何改善他们的粮食安全:

社区保护合作计划

GAR还认识到了建立种植园会为当地社区和原住民带来的挑战。在开始进行任何土地开发项目之前,我们致力于尊重人权并满足自主、事先和知情的同意 (FPIC) 的要求。

通过社区保护合作计划与当地社区合作是我们森林保育工作的核心。GAR率先倡导了充满包容性的协作方法,例如参与定位计划 (PM) 和参与保育计划 (PCP)

GAR 还会在开发种植园之前进行环境和社会影响评估(EIA 和 SIA)。我们了解当地社区的需求、愿望和期望,然后将结果纳入我们的参与定位计划和参与保育计划方法之中。

通过参与定位计划和参与保育计划,GAR和当地社区一起绘制出其特许经营区内的土地使用情况。通过绘制地图,所有利益相关者都能确定并指定社区的关键区域,例如对粮食安全和生态保育很重要的区域。这项工作还能够让我们鼓励社区参与生态保育计划。迄今为止,已经有 158 个村庄加入了我们的参与定位计划。因此,GAR 已经与 22 个村庄达成协议,保护 43,000 公顷的森林。 除此之外,我们还在自己的特许经营区域内划出了保育区。

替代生计项目

我们推出了替代生计项目,作为管理传统农业对环境影响的一种方法。我们的项目为独立农民开展可持续农业实践提供教育,并向社区引入可以加强粮食安全的新作物。

通过这种方式,社区可以提高粮食自给自足的能力和适应力,同时还能支持各项生态保育目标。迄今为止,已经有 40 个社区从 GAR的替代生计项目中获益。

阅读更多内容,了解 GAR 在社区开展的参与式项目

Empowering communities

The global COVID-19 pandemic has shown that it is critical to ensure farming communities, who form the basis of food supply chains and global food security, are taken care of and empowered. When communities are empowered with the means to earn a decent living, poverty reduction will follow.

In many developing countries, palm oil is synonymous with poverty eradication. In the past few decades, the palm oil sector has played a critical role in helping to raise incomes and improve livelihoods of smallholder farmers in tropical developing countries such Indonesia and Malaysia. Communities living in rural remote areas in particular, have benefitted vastly from palm oil development.

community

As one of the largest palm oil companies in Indonesia, GAR recognises the enormous benefit palm oil can have on the lives and livelihoods of the communities in and around our estates. Golden Agri-Resources (GAR) has created thousands of jobs in rural and remote areas. We run a range of social and community development programmes for all of our concessions. We have also helped build public infrastructure such as roads, bridges, community halls, and places of worship. Our work in these communities contributes to the aims of a variety of UN SDGs especially tackling poverty, improving infrastructure and reducing inequalities.

community
community
Health

Hear from a doctor in the field:

community
Education

Hear from a teacher on the ground:

community
Livelihoods

Communities improve their food security:

Community-conservation partnerships

GAR also recognises that the establishment of plantations can create challenges for local communities and indigenous people. We are committed to respecting human rights and fulfilling Free, Prior and Informed Consent (FPIC) requirements before commencing any development of land.

Our work with local communities through community conservation partnerships is at the heart of our forest conservation efforts. GAR has pioneered inclusive and collaborative approaches such as Participatory Mapping (PM) and Participatory Conservation Planning (PCP).

community

GAR also carries out Environmental and Social Impact Assessments (EIA and SIA) prior to developing an estate. We learn about the needs, wants and aspirations of the local communities. The results are then integrated into our PM and PCP approaches.

Through PM and PCP, GAR and local communities map out land use in its concessions together. The mapping allows all stakeholders to identify and designate critical areas for the community such as areas important for food security as well as conservation. The exercise also allows us to involve the community in conservation planning. To date, 158 villages have taken part in PM. As a result, GAR has secured agreements with around 22 villages to protect more than 43,00 hectares of forest. This is in addition to the conservation area we have already set aside in our concessions.

Alternative Livelihood Programmes

We introduced Alternative Livelihood Programmes as a means of managing the environmental impact of traditional farming. Our programmes educate independent farmers on sustainable agricultural practices, and introduce communities to new crops that enhance food security.

This way, communities can improve food self-sufficiency and resilience while supporting conservation goals. To date, 40 communities have reaped the benefits of GAR’s Alternative Livelihood Programmes.

community

Read more about GAR’s engagement with communities