森林保育

像分布在印度尼西亚的这类热带森林,是地球上最富有生物多样性的地区之一。 这些森林不仅对生存在其中的物种(无论大小)至关重要,而且对数以百万计依靠森林为生的人也举足轻重。

对于像 GAR 这样的农业综合企业来说,森林还提供了各种宝贵的生态系统服务—保护土壤和淡水资源—这对我们企业的未来极其重要。保育这些森林就是在保护我们的切身利益。

2011 年,GAR 推出了开创性的森林保育政策 (FCP),是我们努力让砍伐森林与生产脱钩的一部分。FCP 是GAR 社会和环境政策 (GSEP) 之中。中的主要宗旨,也是 GSEP 中作出“不砍伐森林、不占用泥炭地和不剥削”(NDPE) 承诺的基础。 时至今日,GAR 仍然致力于确保我们的棕榈油业务不会涉及到砍伐森林,确保业务的可追溯性,并且能造福我们经营所在地的社区。

conservation

我们致力于保护包含高碳储量(HCS)和高保护价值(HCV)区域的森林。GAR直接和间接地监督和支持超过220,000公顷的保护区。我们在保护区中预留了78,000公顷HCS和HCV区域(比新加坡大)。通过社区保育合作伙伴关系,GAR已经达成了保护另外43,000公顷森林的协议。经过与我们的第三方供应商的积极参与,已经承诺要进一步保护100,000公顷的森林。

我们的保育工作也符合联合国可持续发展目标,特别是 SDG 15 陆地生命,其目标是可持续管理森林并阻止生物多样性的丧失。

高碳储量 (HCS) 方法

印度尼西亚各地的森林景观由各类植被组成,从草原到灌木丛,从再生林到高冠层密林,所有这些植被都含有大量的碳。

2011 年,GAR 与蚯蚓基金会和绿色和平组织合作,开创了高碳储量 (HCS) 方法, 作为我们最初的森林保育政策的一部分。现在这一政策已经被纳入 GAR 社会和环境政策 (GSEP)。

高碳储量方法提供了帮助规划土地使用的方法论和工具包,能够教育土地管理者如何定义森林类型,并且就哪些土地可以开发、哪些土地应该得到保护做出明智的决定。高碳储量方法旨在平衡生态和环境价值与原住民和当地社区的权利与需求。

GAR 已经在我们所有的特许经营区中推广高碳储量方法,在开发新项目之前都会进行高碳储量评估。从 2014 年起,GAR 自愿停止了在我们主要种植园中再开发新项目。我们把重点转向了提高现有种植园的产量上,从而与我们将生产与砍伐森林脱钩的目的保持一致。

conservation

高碳储量分层

protecting hcs area

保护高保护价值 (HCV) 区域

protecting hcs area

所有自然栖息地都拥有其固有的保护价值。例如,其中可能包含该地区特有的物种,或者具有特定当地文化的重要性。

高保护价值 (HCV) 是指在国家、区域或国际层面具有突出的生物、生态、社会或文化价值的区域。

早在 2011 年,GAR 就致力于保护具有高保护价值的区域。在开发任何新项目之前,我们都会由合格的评估人员进行高保护价值评估。GAR 不在国家和国际指定的保护区内运营。

恢复河岸带

conservation

我们对高保护价值区域的管理包括恢复以前被清理或种植过作物的河岸带。河岸缓冲带指的是沿水体两岸的天然植被,这些地带能控制水土流失,并对农业径流进入水域的污染物起到缓冲作用。

GAR 认识到了河岸缓冲带的生态重要性,从 2018 年以来一直在积极致力于维护和恢复我们运营所在地的河岸带。迄今为止,我们已经修复了 2,700 公顷左右的河岸带,并且成功地利用本地树木和植被对这些河岸带 96% 的区域进行了植被的重新栽植。

我们的研究机构 SMARTRI,正在与剑桥大学开展一项河岸带修复研究项目 RERTA,用于确定最佳的修复方法。

conservation
conservation

景观保育方法

conservation

我们采用了一种超越特许经营区边界的景观保育方法,从 2015 年开始实施的社区保育合作伙伴关系,就是这方面的一个例证。GAR 开创了充满包容性的方法,如参与定位计划 (PM) 和参与保育计划 (PCP), 能够让社区参与保育计划。

迄今为止,GAR 已经说服了 22 个村庄划出 43,000 公顷的高碳储量森林进行保育。

监测森林砍伐

GAR 使用以下方法密切监测我们整个特许经营区的森林砍伐状况:

卫星监测和雷达技术

每 24 天为所有保育区提供一次变化提示

基线定位更新

无人机每学期对所有保育区进行一次高分辨率图像的拍摄

地面验证和报告

种植园工作人员直接从 GAR 通过雷达监测收到变化警报的地区进行报告

GAR join RADD

从 2017 年起,GAR 已经把这些措施推广到了所有的种植园,监测覆盖了所有的高碳储量森林和 70% 的高保护价值区域。

2019 年,GAR 加入了一项行业先驱计划,以改善对印度尼西亚砍伐森林状况的监测情况。GAR 与其他九个主要棕榈油生产商和采购方携手,支持并资助开发一项全新的基于雷达的森林监测系统,被称为森林砍伐监测雷达报警 (RADD)。RADD 将帮助 GAR 更加迅速地应对问题,因为它能实时监测到砍伐森林的情况。

阅读更多内容,了解 GAR 在促进森林保育和改善生物多样性方面做出的努力

Forest conservation

Tropical forests, like those in Indonesia, are some of the most biodiverse areas on Earth. These forests are not only vital to the species (large and small) housed within, but also to millions of people who depend on them for their livelihoods.

For an agribusiness such as Golden Agri-Resources (GAR), forests also provide a variety of valuable ecosystem services – protecting soils and freshwater resources – that are vital to the future of our business. Conserving them is in our own interests.

This realisation was behind the launch of GAR’s pioneering Forest Conservation Policy (FCP) in 2011 as part of our efforts to delink deforestation from production. The FCP is a key tenet of our GAR Social and Environmental Policy (GSEP), and informs the No Deforestation, No Peat, and No Exploitation – or NDPE – commitments within the GSEP. Today, GAR remains committed to ensuring that our palm oil operations are deforestation-free, traceable, and benefit the communities where we operate.

We are committed to protecting forests that contain High Carbon Stock (HCS) and High Conservation Value (HCV) areas. GAR oversees and supports, directly and indirectly, over 220,000 hectares of conservation areas. We have set aside 78,000 hectares (an area larger than the size of Singapore) of HCS and HCV areas across our concessions for conservation. Through community conservation partnerships, GAR has secured agreements to protect another 43,000 hectares of forests. Active engagement with our third party suppliers has yielded commitments to conserve a further 100,000 hectares of forests.

Our conservation efforts are also aligned with UN Sustainable Development Goals, specifically SDG 15 Life on Land, which aims to manage forests sustainably and stop biodiversity loss.

High Carbon Stock (HCS) Approach

The forest landscapes across Indonesia are a mix of vegetation ranging from grassland to scrub, regenerating forest to dense forests with a high canopy, all of which contain large stores of carbon.

GAR pioneered the High Carbon Stock (HCS) Approach in partnership with the Earthworm Foundation and Greenpeace, as part of our original Forest Conservation Policy in 2011. The policy is now embedded in our GAR Social and Environmental Policy (GSEP).

The HCS Approach provides a methodology and toolkit to help plan land use. It educates land managers on how to define forest types and make informed decisions about what land can be developed and what should be conserved. The HCS Approach aims to balance ecological and environmental values with the rights and needs of indigenous peoples and local communities.

GAR has rolled out the HCS Approach across all our concessions. We conduct HCS assessments prior to all new development. Since 2014, GAR has voluntarily ceased all new development in our main estates. We have turned our focus to yield improvement in our existing plantations instead, in line with our goal to delink production from deforestation.

High Carbon Stock (HCS) Forest in the Tropics

Protecting High Conservation Value (HCV) areas

All natural habitats have inherent conservation value. They may contain species unique to that location for example, or have specific cultural importance.

High Conservation Values (HCV) refer to areas where the biological, ecological, social or cultural value is outstandingly significant at a national, regional or international level.

As early as 2011, GAR committed to protecting areas that are HCV. We conduct HCV assessments using qualified assessors prior to any new development. GAR does not operate in nationally and internationally designated protected areas.

Restoring riparian zones

Our management of HCV areas includes the rehabilitation of riparian zones that have previously been cleared or planted. Riparian buffers refer to the natural vegetation along the banks of water bodies. They control erosion and function as a buffer to pollutants entering the waters from agricultural runoff.

Recognising the ecological importance of riparian buffer zones, GAR has been actively working on maintaining and restoring these zones across our operations since 2018. To date, we have rehabilitated around 2,700 hectares of riparian zones. We have managed to revegetate 96 percent of these riparian zones with native trees and vegetation.

Our research facility, SMARTRI, is collaborating with Cambridge University on a riparian restoration research project, RERTA, to determine the best methods for restoration.

Landscape approach to conservation

We take a landscape approach to conservation, beyond the boundaries of our concessions. Our community conservation partnerships, which began in 2015, are an example of this. GAR has pioneered inclusive approaches such as Participatory Mapping (PM) and Participatory Conservation Planning (PCP) to involve the community in conservation planning.

To date, GAR has convinced 22 villages to set aside over 43,000 hectares of HCS forests for conservation.

Download our Participatory Mapping guidelines here

Monitoring deforestation

GAR monitors deforestation across our concessions closely using the following methods:

Satellite-based monitoring and radar technology

Change alerts are provided every 24 days for all conservation areas

Baseline mapping update

Drones take high-resolution imagery of all conservation areas once every semester

Ground verification and reporting

Plantation staff report directly from areas where GAR has received change alerts through radar monitoring

GAR has rolled out these measures to all estates since 2017. The monitoring covers all HCS forests and 70 percent of HCV areas.

In 2019, GAR joined a pioneering industry initiative to improve surveillance of deforestation in Indonesia. Together with nine other major palm oil producers and buyers, GAR is supporting and funding the development of a new radar-based forest monitoring system known as Radar Alerts for Detecting Deforestation (RADD). RADD will help GAR address issues even more swiftly as it will allow us to monitor deforestation in real-time.

We have also partnered with agritech company, Satelligence to deliver near real-time deforestation risk monitoring of our palm oil concessions and supply chain, covering all of Indonesia. Satelligence pulls insights from supply chain asset data, satellite intelligence, and human resources to monitor on the ground risks.

Read more about GAR’s efforts to promote forest conservation and biodiversity