火灾和烟霾管理

森林火灾和火灾产生的烟霾是印度尼西亚长期关注的问题,对于我们的雇员、我们所生活的社区和种植园周边都有着直接的影响。森林火灾还会严重导致生物多样性丧失,由于树木燃烧会将大量温室气体 (GHG) 释放到大气中,还会大大加剧气候变化。此外,烟霾还会导致油棕榈减产,让种植油棕榈成为不明智的商业选择。

GAR 将重点放在长期预防并减轻林火和烟霾的发生和影响。我们已经制定并实施了一系列的举措,旨在预防并管控整个特许经营区内的林火。

零燃烧政策

GAR在1997年 采取了一项零燃烧政策,作为我们努力将生产与砍伐森林脱钩的一部分。我们反对在运营和整体价值链中使用火—对于在土地整理或土地开发中使用火的情况持零容忍态度。

灭火

发生火灾时,响应速度是最关键的。我们为所有的种植园都配备了灭火设备。GAR 还培训了 10,000 多名应急小组人员,他们驻扎在种植园中随时待命。

寻找长期解决方案

与我们的供应链合作

为了确保我们的整个供应链都符合我们采取的零燃烧政策,GAR 积极与高风险区域的供应商接洽 ,帮助他们构建火灾管理、预防和灭火的能力,还组织培训研讨会并且进行随访。GAR 还参与制定长期解决方案,从而解决我们特许经营区内和周边的林火问题。为了有效开展这些工作,我们认识到需要与社区合作,预防并且扑灭林火。

社区推广 (DMPA)

GAR 在2016年启动了一项名为 Desa Makmur Peduli Api (DMPA), 的长期社区防火项目。我们为特许经营区内和周边的 DMPA 村庄提供防火培训,配备基本的消防设施,还设置应对火灾风险的预警程序。

在 DMPA 项目中,我们还在学校推广防火知识,以期通过长期努力改变社区的观念,让他们不再通过焚烧森林来开垦农业用地。这个项目的重点是森林保育和粮食安全。

得益于 GAR 扎实的防火和灭火措施,我们能够遏制任何发生的火灾。尽管 2019 年有一个充满挑战的火灾季,但我们 99.5% 的生产区域并未受到影响。

GAR 在 DMPA 中采用四管齐下的方法:

1. 预防火灾

防火意识

社区赋权

完善的水资源管理系统

2. 准备工作

训练有素且装备精良的专业人员

完善的基础设施

3. 预警系统

监测热点区地图

高效有力的火警巡逻系统

潜在火灾的评级系统

用于传播防火信息的社交媒体

4. 快速响应

灭火队随时待命,迅速扑灭火势

火灾监测和报告

GAR 积极监测我们特许经营区和 DMPA 村庄的所有火灾事件。这包括监测并检查火灾发生区域周边一公里的范围。良好的火灾报告机制是必不可少的, 因为这可以帮助灭火人员快速响应救援,更好地控制火势,并且增强火灾原因的透明度。

以下是我们详细记录的月度火灾事故报告。

火灾事故报告

* including plasma smallholder's area

日期 PT 热点数量 原因 采取的行动和状态 受影响土地类型 总受影响面积(公顷)
日期 PT 热点数量 原因 采取的行动和状态 受影响土地类型 总受影响面积(公顷)

Fire and haze management

Forest fires and the resulting haze are a perennial concern in Indonesia and have a direct impact on many of our employees and the communities living in and around our plantations. Forest fires also cause great loss of biodiversity and contribute heavily to climate change as greenhouse gases (GHGs) are released into the atmosphere when forests burn. In addition, haze can actually depress the production of oil palms, making it a bad business choice for palm growers.

GAR is focused on long-term fire and haze prevention and mitigation. We have developed and implemented a wide range of initiatives aimed at preventing and managing fires across our concessions.

Zero Burning Policy

GAR adopted a Zero Burning Policy in 1997 as part of our efforts to delink production from deforestation. We are against the use of fire in all our operations and throughout our value chain — we do not tolerate the use of fire in land preparation or development.

Fighting fires

In the event of a fire, speed is of the essence. All our estates have fire-fighting equipment. GAR has also trained more than 10,000 Emergency Response Team personnel, stationed across our plantations, ready to deploy at a moment’s notice.

Finding long-term solutions

Working with our supply chain

To ensure our entire supply chain complies with our Zero Burning Policy, GAR proactively engages with suppliers in high-risk areas. We help them build capacity in fire management, prevention and suppression. These efforts include training workshops and follow up visits. GAR is also engaged in long-term solutions to tackle forest fires in and around our concessions. To do this effectively, we recognise the need to work with communities to prevent and suppress fires.

Community Outreach (DMPA)

GAR launched Desa Makmur Peduli Api (DMPA), a long-term fire prevention community programme, in 2016. DMPA villages in and around our concessions are provided with training on fire prevention, basic fire-fighting infrastructure, and early-warning processes to deal with the risk of fires.

Under DMPA, we also conduct outreach to schools in a long-term effort to change community mindsets to move away from burning forests to clear land for agricultural use. The programme focuses on forest conservation and food security.

GAR employs a four-pronged approach in DMPA:

1. Prevention

Fire prevention awareness

Community empowerment

Improved water management system

2. Preparedness

Well-trained and well-equipped personnel

Improved infrastructure

3. Early warning system

Monitor hot spot maps

Effective and efficient fire patrol systems

Rating system for potential for fires

Social media channels to disseminate fire prevention messages

4. Quick response

Fire-fighting team on standby to supress fires quickly

Fire monitoring and reporting

GAR actively monitors all fire incidents in our concessions and DMPA villages. This includes monitoring and checking up to one kilometre around the fire outbreak area. Good fire reporting is essential, as it can help in faster response times in sending aid, better fire containment, and transparency in reasons for fire.

View our detailed monthly fire incident reports below.

Fire incident reports

* including plasma smallholder's area

Date Province PT Number of Hotspots Cause Actions Taken & Status Type of Land Affected Total Affected Area (ha)
Date Province PT Number of Hotspots Cause Actions Taken & Status Type of Land Affected Total Affected Area (ha)