减少我们的环境足迹

以可持续的方式生产的棕榈油需要在很多方面做出雄心勃勃的承诺。除了我们在生态保育方面所做的努力,GAR 还致力于减少我们整体运营中的环境足迹。

实施行业最佳实践和负责任的生产方法能够让我们减少温室气体 (GHG) 的排放,改善用水状况和废物管理。与此同时,鉴于气候变化和生物多样性丧失的紧迫性,我们明白我们有能力而且应当付出更多的努力。通过利用技术进步和创新新工艺,我们希望实现更多的目标。

温室气体排放

缓解气候变化的一个重要方法就是减少温室气体的排放。我们认识到,我们运营中的最大排放源来自于种植园的种植工作。GAR 致力于通过收集甲烷气体和堆肥等工作来减少这种情况。请在此处阅读更多内容。

管理我们的水足迹

水是我们开展业务和我们业务所在社区的重要资源。我们认识到,面对气候变化,水资源的可用性是一个越来越重要的问题。我们也正在寻找能尽量减少水足迹的方法。

GAR 的种植园一般通过雨水灌溉,而不使用人工浇灌。我们力求使用地表水来满足种植园中的用水需求,这些地表水经过处理后可以达到生产所要求的质量标准。我们通过尽量回收和再利用水资源来提高我们的节水效率。

我们还遵循着土地管理实践来减少地表水和地下水污染的风险。这些措施包括:不在河岸带附近施用除草剂或化学品;将用作肥料的处理后的液体废物(POME)的使用范围限制在距河岸地区50米的位置;以及在河岸带种植香根草来减少土壤侵蚀。

日益增多的厄尔尼诺等极端天气可能会引发严重的旱灾。我们现正探索如何通过使用人工智能 (AI) 等先进技术,来优化我们种植园中的用水情况。

您可以阅读我们的可持续发展报告来了解我们水足迹的更多信息。

减少化学农药的使用

GAR 采用病虫害综合治理 (IPM) 的方法,这意味着天然解决方案和生物防治是我们在所有种植园控制虫害的首选方法。这种方法能够将经济、公共卫生和环境风险降至最低。其中一个例子就是通过繁殖猫头鹰来控制老鼠的数量。GAR 还在推广使用生物农药来改善土壤及棕榈树的健康状况。GAR 从 2016 年起不再使用百草枯这种剧毒的除草剂。

零废弃物政策

我们的目标是重新使用、回收并再利用所有废物。从 2015 年以来,GAR 在我们的上游业务中实现了毛棕榈油 (CPO) 生产过程中废物的 100% 回收。

我们在运营中同时使用固体废物(纤维和壳类)和液体废物(工厂废水)。我们对这些废物进行处理并重新加以利用,将其用作有机肥料和燃料。

我们下游产业的废弃物会被送往城市垃圾填埋场或焚烧炉进行处理。危险废弃物则由授权第三方收集并加以妥善处置。

利用科技与创新提高产量

通过研发提高棕榈油的产量

提高产量是降低我们碳足迹的一项关键策略。能够通过更优的种子储备从现有农田中收获更高的产量,这意味着我们能获得更高的收入,同时还可能减少对更多农业土地的需求。GAR 利用生物技术改善我们的种植材料和种子储备,从而提高我们种植园的油棕榈生产率。GAR 资助这方面的研究,这些研究在我们两家最先进的研究中心展开。

位于廖内省荔波市的 SMART 研究所 (SMARTRI) 是我们的旗舰研究机构,由 80 名研究员和科学家组成的团队致力于改善农艺、育种和作物保护方面的实践,所有的这些努力都有助于棕榈油的可持续生产。SMARTRI 的质量管理体系通过了 ISO 9001:2008 认证,其分析实验室通过了 ISO 17025 认证。

我们 SMARTRI 的研究员展开了一系列的项目,最著名的是与剑桥大学长期合作研究的油棕榈种植园的生态系统。

位于茂物森图的 SMART 生物技术中心是一所创新中心,涵盖了分子工程、分子育种、生物信息学、生物化学、微生物组技术、蛋白质组学和组织培养等跨学科领域。其质量管理体系通过了 ISO 9001:2015 认证。

我们的植物生产和生物技术部门的科学家还研究高产种植材料,包括通过微繁殖和组织培养生产无性繁殖的油棕。

Eka 1 号和 2 号:超高产油棕榈种子

GAR 的两所研究机构历经多年的研发后,于 2017 年发布了超高产种子 Eka 1 号和 Eka 2 号。这两种革命性的种植材料能够生产 10 吨以上的毛棕榈油/公顷/年,而印度尼西亚全国的平均产量水平为 3.6 吨/公顷/年。这些新的种植材料都是通过常规选育和组织培养,从优质的亲本棕榈中选育出来的。

Eka 1 号和 2 号已经在印度尼西亚种子目录中注册,由于这样培育出来的棕榈油产量能达到行业最高水平,却不会增加耕地面积,因此将有助于 GAR 打击滥伐森林的现象。

SMARTRI 和 SMART 生物技术中心目前正在努力培育足够的克隆种子,未来几年内就可以在各个庄园内种植。迄今为止,我们已经生产了 约250 万克隆种子用于棕榈树的重新栽植。

油棕榈基因组项目

GAR 积极参与油棕榈基因组项目,这是由来自七个国家的 16 家知名研究机构联合发起的一项全球倡议。

这一项目使用分子标记来支持传统育种。项目的主要目标是绘制多个油棕榈品种的基因组图谱,包括鉴定诸如抗病性、耐旱性、优质油料和高产等特定性状。

这能让我们确定特定植物是否传递了其质量和数量等性状,而不必等待油棕榈成熟后再观察这些性状。 我们的植物生产和生物技术部设置了专门的团队,我们的研究人员也一直在参与在西班牙和法国展开的相关科研活动。

确保消费者安全和产品质量

我们的消费者依靠 GAR 品牌获得他们可以信赖的安全和高质量产品。我们采用国际标准来确保产品质量,使用条形码溯源,并且系统地记录有效期和批次数据。

我们在印度尼西亚的所有棕榈油精炼厂都通过了 ISO 9001 认证,而且三家工厂都通过了 ISO 22000 认证,这说明他们都在严格遵守国际食品安全标准。还有三家工厂获得了 FSSC 22000 食品安全认证。这六家工厂都拥有 OHSAS 18001、ISO 14001、清真及犹太教饮食规定认证。

此外,我们位于 楠榜(Lampung)、勿拉湾(Belawan)、马伦达(Marunda)、塔尔琼(Tarjun)和卢布克(Lubuk Gaung)的精炼厂都拥有 FDA 认证,在巴拉望、楠榜和 卢布克的月桂产品都获得了 GMP+B2 的认证。我们得五家工厂还获得了 CPPOB 认证(加工食品生产质量管理规范)。GAR 还致力推出在整个业务经营过程中危害分析和关键控制点或 HACCP 食品安全体系。

我们位于 马伦达的 下游业务研究和发展部 马伦达的下游业务研究和发展部还在努力研发棕榈食品的营养方面的问题。其现阶段工作的重点包括通过最大限度地降低单氯丙二醇 (3-MCPD) 和缩水甘油脂肪酸酯 (GE) 的含量,消除工业反式脂肪酸,并探索如何在加工食品中使用棕榈/棕榈仁油作为替代品,让饮食更加健康。

Reducing our operational footprint

Sustainably produced palm oil requires ambitious commitments on many fronts. In addition to our conservation efforts, Golden-Agri Resources (GAR) is also committed to reducing the environmental footprint of our operations overall.

Implementing industry best practices and enforcing responsible production methods has enabled us to reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions, improve water use, and waste management. At the same time, with the urgency of climate change and biodiversity loss, we acknowledge that there is more that can and should be done. By leveraging technological advances and innovating new processes, we want to achieve more.

Greenhouse gas emissions

One key way to mitigate climate change is reducing GHG emissions. We recognise that the largest source of emissions in our operations is from cultivation at our plantations. GAR is committed to reducing this through methane gas capture and composting, among other efforts.

Managing our water footprint

Water is a vital resource for our operations and the communities where we operate. We recognise that water availability is an increasingly important issue given climate change and we are looking at ways to minimise our water footprint.

GAR’s plantations are rain-fed, not irrigated, and we strive to meet all our water needs through surface water that is processed to meet the quality standards required for production. We continue to improve our water efficiency by recycling and reusing where we can.

We also follow land management practices to reduce the risk of surface and ground water pollution. These include not applying herbicides or chemicals near riparian areas; restricting the application of treated liquid waste (POME) which is used as fertiliser to 50 metres from riparian areas; and planting vetiver grass to minimise soil erosion at riparian areas.

The increasing occurrence of extreme weather phenomena like El Niño can lead to severe drought. We are exploring ways to optimise water use in our plantations through the use of advanced technology including AI.

More information on our water footprint can be found in our Sustainability Report.

Reducing chemical pesticides

GAR adopts an Integrated Pest Management (IPM) approach, which means natural solutions and biological controls are our preferred method for controlling pests across all our plantations. This minimises economic, public health and environmental risks. Breeding barn owls to control the rat population is one example. GAR is also promoting the use of biopesticides, to enhance the health condition of the soils and the palm trees. GAR stopped using paraquat, a highly toxic weed killer, in 2016.

Zero Waste Policy

We aim to reuse, recover and recycle any waste products. Since 2015, GAR has achieved 100 percent recycling of waste from the crude palm oil (CPO) production process in our upstream operations.

We use both the solid waste (fibre and shells) and liquid waste (mill effluent) from our operations. We then treat and repurpose this waste, using it as organic fertiliser and fuel.

Our downstream waste is disposed of at municipal landfills or incinerators. Hazardous waste is collected for proper disposal by authorised third parties.

Harnessing technology and innovation to increase yields

Higher palm oil yields through R&D

Yield improvement is a key strategy to reduce our carbon footprint. Being able to obtain higher yields from existing agricultural land through better seed stock means higher revenue while potentially reducing the need for more agricultural land. GAR harnesses biotechnology to improve our planting material and seed stock, which leads to higher oil palm productivity rates within our plantations. GAR funds this research, being carried out at our two state-of-the-art research centres.

The SMART Research Institute (SMARTRI) in Libo, Riau is our flagship research facility with a team of 80 researchers and scientists focusing on improving practices in agronomy, breeding, and crop protection, all of which contribute to sustainable palm oil production. SMARTRI is ISO 9001:2008 certified for its Quality Management System and accredited with ISO 17025 for its analytical laboratory.

Our researchers in SMARTRI work on a range of projects, most notably with the University of Cambridge in a long-term collaboration researching ecosystems in oil palm plantations.

The SMART Biotechnology Centre in Sentul, Bogor, serves as an innovation hub housing interdisciplinary fields including Molecular Engineering; Molecular Breeding, Bioinformatics; Biochemistry; Microbiome Technology; Proteomics, and Tissue Culture. It is ISO 9001:2015 certified for Quality Management Systems.

Our scientists in the Plant Production and Biotechnology Division conduct research on high yield planting material that includes the production of oil palm clones through micro propagation and tissue culture.

Eka 1 and 2:
Super high-yielding oil palm seeds

Following years of R&D in our two facilities, GAR launched super high-yielding seeds Eka 1 and Eka 2 in 2017. This revolutionary planting material is capable of producing over 10 tonnes of CPO/hectare/year, versus the national average of 3.6 tonnes/hectare/year in Indonesia. The new planting materials were developed through conventional selection and tissue culture from elite parent palms.

Eka 1 and Eka 2 are registered under Indonesia’s Catalogue of Seeds and will help GAR combat deforestation as palm oil yields will be increased to the highest levels in the industry, without increasing size of land under cultivation.

SMARTRI and SMART Biotechnology Centre are now working on creating sufficient clonal seed stock to be planted in the estates in the next few years. To date, around 2.5 million clones have been produced for replanting.

Oil Palm Genome Project

GAR is an active participant in the Oil Palm Genome Project, a worldwide initiative by a consortium of 16 reputable research organisations from seven countries.

The project uses molecular markers to support conventional breeding. The project’s main objective is to map the genome of several oil palm varieties, including identification of specific traits such as disease resistance, drought tolerance, superior quality oil, and high yield.

This will allow us to determine whether the plants pass on their qualitative and quantitative traits, without having to wait for the oil palms to mature. We have a dedicated team in our Plant Production and Biotechnology Division and our researchers have been involved in related research activities in Spain and France.

Ensuring consumer safety and product quality

Our consumers rely on GAR brands for safe and high quality products that they can trust. We use international standards to ensure the quality of our products, bar codes for traceability, and we systematically record expiry dates and batch data.

All of our palm oil refineries in Indonesia are accredited with ISO 9001 and three plants have ISO 22000 certification, which recognises that they adhere to strict international food safety standards. Three plants also have FSSC 22000 food safety certification. The six facilities also have OHSAS 18001, ISO 14001, Halal and Kosher certification.

In addition, our refineries in Lampung, Belawan, Marunda, Tarjun and Lubuk Gaung have FDA accreditation and we have GMP+B2 certification for lauric products at the Belawan, Lampung, Lubuk Gaung. Five of our plants also have CPPOB certification (Good Manufacturing Practices for Processed Food).

We are also committed to rolling out the Hazards Analysis and Critical Control Point or HACCP food safety system across our operations.

Our Downstream Research and Development department based in Marunda is also working on the nutritional aspects of palm-based food products. Its current focus includes making diets healthier by minimising 3-monochloropropane diol (3-MCPD) and glycidyl fatty acid esters (GE) levels, eliminating industrial trans-fatty acids, and exploring ways in which palm/palm kernel oil could be used as an alternative in processed foods.