可持续发展始于源头

GAR 认识到,如果我们要履行可持续发展的承诺,必须从负责任的供应商采购原材料(包括棕榈和非棕榈的原材料),这些供应商要与我们一样遵循同样的高标准生产。在 GSEP 和负责任采购政策中列出的指导方针就是我们采购实践的依据。

我们向所有供应商都强调了这些指导方针的重要性,并且投入了大量的时间和资源帮助我们的供应链实现更好的转型和变化。

我们的采购对象

作为一家以棕榈为基础的农业综合企业,我们的采购主要涉及棕榈产品。我们的毛棕榈油 (CPO) 和棕榈仁 (PK) 来自位于印度尼西亚的 46 家 GAR 自有工厂和 380 多家第三方工厂。

在我们推动可持续棕榈油生产的过程中,我们正在努力实现 100% 的可追溯性。想要确保 GAR 的第三方棕榈供应商及其代理商和小农户遵守我们同样严格的指导方针,这需要供应商广泛参与、评估和培训。

在像化肥、备件和服务的非棕榈采购方面,我们协力合作支持当地企业和中小企业 (SME)。我们从业务所在地附近的当地供应商进行采购,80% 以上的采购都来自中小型企业。

GAR graphic

支持小农户

小农户是印度尼西亚棕榈供应链的关键部分。超过200 万农民控制着印尼油棕种植园总面积的大约 40%。我们相信,在推动负责任的做法的同时改善农民的生计是改善棕榈油行业的关键。

Plasma小农户

近三十年来,我们的Plasma小农户计划已帮助约 7 万名小农户进行负责任的耕作。我们并非这些小农户种植园的所有者,但却将他们纳入到我们的管理体系之中。我们向他们提供高产种子和优质肥料,并且定期对他们进行良好的农业实践培训。2020 年,我们的小农户实现了每公顷 4.2 吨左右的毛棕榈油产量,在印度尼西亚名列前茅。

responsible sourcing

独立小农户

GAR 还通过技术和财政援助举措支持成千上万的独立小农户,这是我们推动整个行业转型的使命的一部分。

用质量更好、产量更高的种子进行重新种植是我们与独立小农户合作的一个重点领域。但是,由于在等待新植物成熟期间会产生收入损失,这往往会影响许多小农户进行必要的重新种植以帮助他们从作物中获得更多的收入。

独立农户再植计划为农民提供了融资渠道,帮助他们在新苗成熟的四年时间里维持生计。从 2014 年以来,GAR 已经帮助独立农民从国有银行获得了近 4,000 亿印尼盾的贷款。

具体而言,自2013年以来,GAR在东加里曼丹省通过小农发展计划来向独立农民提供援助和无息信贷。农民可以以低于市场的价格获得高产种子、化肥聊和除草剂以及重型设备的租金。迄今为止,我们已经发放了 300 多亿印尼盾的无息贷款和其他援助。

responsible sourcing
阅读更多内容,了解 GAR 在支持小农户方面所做的工作

Sustainability starts at the source

Golden Agri-Resources (GAR) recognises we must source our raw materials (both palm and non-palm) from responsible suppliers who follow the same high standards of production as we do, if we are to fulfil our sustainability commitments. Guidelines outlined in the GSEP and Responsible Sourcing Policy inform our sourcing practices.

We emphasise the importance of these guidelines with all our suppliers, and make substantial investments in time and resources to help our supply chain transform and change for the better.

Who we buy from

As a palm-based agribusiness, the bulk of our sourcing concerns palm products. Our crude palm oil (CPO) and palm kernel (PK) come from 47 GAR-owned mills and almost 400 third-party mills in Indonesia.

In our drive for sustainable palm oil production, we are striving towards 100 percent traceability. Ensuring GAR’s third-party palm suppliers and their agents and smallholders adhere to the same strict guidelines we do requires extensive supplier engagement, assessment and training.

For non-palm procurement, such as fertiliser, spare parts and services, we make concerted efforts to support local business and small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). We buy from local vendors close to our operational sites and more than 80 percent of our procurement is from SMEs.

Supporting smallholders

Smallholders are a critical part of the palm supply chain in Indonesia. Over two million farmers control about 40 percent of total oil palm plantation area in the country. We believe that improving their livelihoods while driving responsible practices is key to improving the palm oil industry.

Plasma smallholders

For almost three decades, our Plasma Programme has helped over 70,000 smallholders to practice responsible farming. We do not own these plantations but integrate these plasma smallholders into our management system. We provide plasma smallholders with high-yielding seeds, quality fertilisers, and conduct regular training on good agricultural practices. In 2019, our smallholders achieved a CPO yield of around 4.8 tonnes per hectare, among the highest in Indonesia.

Independent smallholders

GAR also supports thousands of independent smallholders through technical and financial assistance initiatives as part of our mission to drive transformation across the industry.

Replanting with better quality, higher-yielding seeds is a focus area in our work with independent smallholders. However, the loss of income while waiting for the new plants to mature is often a barrier to many smallholders undertaking the necessary replanting that can help them earn more from their crop.

The Independent Farmers Replanting Programme gives farmers access to financing, helping them sustain their livelihoods during the four years it takes for the new seedlings to mature. Since 2014, GAR has helped independent farmers secure loans of nearly IDR 400 billion from state-owned banks.

Specifically, in East Kalimantan, GAR has provided assistance and interest-free credit to independent farmers through the Smallholders Development Programme since 2013. Farmers have access to high-yielding seeds, fertiliser and herbicides, and heavy equipment rental, at below market rates. To date, we have disbursed more than IDR 30 billion in interest-free loans and other aid.

Read more about GAR’s work in supporting smallholders