棕榈供应链转型的必要性

棕榈的供应链非常复杂,其中涉及了像我们这样的大型生产商、家庭农场还有独立工厂。在整个行业中,对可持续实践的采用情况参差不齐。

GAR 与我们棕榈供应链中的数千家供应商展开合作。为了进行负责任的运营,我们必须确保我们的第三方供应商也在实施可持续的生产实践。

实现这种供应链转型的第一步就是要主动追踪我们的供应商及其采购源。随后,GAR 不断与他们接洽, 改进他们的不砍伐森林、不开采泥炭地和不剥削 (NDPE) 的实践。我们还与非政府组织和农业技术公司展开合作,从而实现完全透明化和负责任的供应链。

GAR 的转型努力还能最大程度地降低了对我们供应链的干扰和风险。这是创造一个既负责任又能抵御动荡时期的棕榈油行业的关键。

实现渐进式可追溯性

可追溯性是我们供应链转型工作的一项关键指标。

这意味着能够为我们的最终产品溯源。GAR 致力于建立一个全面可追溯和透明化的供应链。我们想知道鲜果束 (FFB) 的来源,以及棕榈油是否通过可持续的方式生产。有了全面可追溯性,GAR 可以为我们的客户和终端消费者保证棕榈产品所使用的原料来源。

可追溯性也是一种强大的商业推动力。现在的客户变得越来越挑剔,都希望知道他们的原料来源。为了确保可追溯性的数量,客户可能愿意支付更高的价格,承诺进行大量采购或签订长期合同。

可追溯到种植园

截至 2015 年底,GAR 实现并继续保持对工厂的完全可追溯性(TTM)。

目前,GAR 正努力在 2020 年底前实现对种植园的完全可追溯性 (TTP)。

GAR 自有工厂在 2017 年底实现了对种植园的 100% 可追溯性,我们正在与第三方供应商工厂紧密合作,力求实现同样的结果。截至 2019 年底,GAR 的棕榈供应链已经实现了对种植园的 78% 可追溯性。

帮助我们的供应商实现对种植园的可追溯性

工厂符合以下标准时即能实现对种植园的可追溯性:

1
能够确认鲜果束的所有来源

必须知道所收到的和加工的水果来自哪个种植园。这包括要掌握相关信息,如确切位置和所有权的细节。

2
有标准的操作程序来记录鲜果束的移动轨迹。

必须制定程序,记录果实从种植园再到工厂的移动轨迹。这包括鲜果束进入工厂的地磅之前,其所有权从农民手中转到任何中间商手中时的产销监管链文件。

对供应商来说,对种植园进行追踪可能是艰巨的。一家主要从外部种植园和独立农户处采购的工厂要比只从自有/附属种植园采购的综合工厂投入更多的工作。也有一些工厂与中间商/鲜果束代理商打交道,这些中间商/代理商从很多的独立农户那里收集鲜果束。

我们与供应商合作, 根据他们的采购情况,制定切实可行的行动计划来实现对种植园的可追溯性。把独立农户和其他参与鲜果束贸易的中间商纳入其中是这个过程的重要组成部分。

KsatriaSawit 项目

GAR 在2019 年推出了 KsatriaSawit 项目,用于帮助加快最后阶段的可追溯性进程。这一项目涵盖了亚齐、南北苏门答腊和廖内省,在那里,我们的许多供应商工厂都是从小农户和代理商进行采购。我们估计KsatriaSawit 能帮助我们追踪近 60,000 名小农户,并在 2020 年底前实现对种植园 100% 可追溯性的目标。

阅读更多我们在供应链转型方面所做的工作。

The need for transformation in the palm supply chain

The palm supply chain is complex, ranging from large scale producers like ourselves to family farms and independent mills. Across the sector, uptake of sustainable practices is mixed.

GAR works with thousands of suppliers in our palm supply chain. To operate responsibly, we must ensure our third-party suppliers are implementing sustainable production practices as well.

The first step in bringing about this supply chain transformation is proactively tracing our suppliers and their sources. After which, GAR engages them continuously in improving their No Deforestation, Peat and Exploitation (NDPE) practices. We also work with NGOs and agtech companies to achieve a fully transparent and responsible supply chain.

GAR’s transformative efforts also minimise disruptions and risks to our supply chain. This is key to create a palm oil industry that is responsible as well as resilient, to weather turbulent times.

supply chain

Achieving progressive traceability

supply chain

Traceability is a key metric of our supply chain transformation efforts. It means being able to track our end products back to their origin. GAR is committed to a fully traceable and transparent supply chain. We want to know where the Fresh Fruit Bunches
(FFBs) are sourced from, and whether the oil is produced in a sustainable manner. With full traceability, GAR can guarantee the origin of the raw materials used in our palm-derived products, for our customers and end-consumers.

Traceability is a strong commercial driver as well. Customers are increasingly discerning and want to know the origin of their raw materials. To secure traceable volumes, customers may be willing to pay a higher price, commit to large purchases or longer term contracts.

Traceability to the plantation

As of end 2015, GAR achieved and continues to maintain full Traceability to the Mill (TTM). Currently, GAR is working towards full Traceability to the Plantation (TTP).

GAR-owned mills achieved 100 percent TTP at end 2017, and we are working closely with our third-party supplier mills to achieve the same result. As of end 2020, GAR has achieved 90 percent full TTP for our palm supply chain.

supply chain

Helping our suppliers achieve TTP

A mill achieves TTP when they meet the following criteria:

1
Can identify all sources of FFB

They must know which plantations the fruit they receive and process come from. This includes having relevant information such as exact location and details of ownership.

2
Have standard operating procedures to document the movement of FFB

They must have processes in place to document movement of the fruit from plantation to their mill. This includes chain of custody documents when the FFB ownership changes hands from farmers to any intermediaries before entering the mill’s weighbridge.

Undertaking traceability to plantation can be daunting for suppliers. A mill sourcing mostly from external plantations and independent farmers will have to put in more effort than an integrated mill buying only from its own/affiliated estates. There are also mills who deal with intermediaries/FFB agents who accumulate FFB from many independent farmers.

We work with our suppliers to devise practical action plans to achieve traceability to plantation based on their sourcing. Including independent farmers and other intermediaries involved in FFB trade is an essential part of this process.

Ksatria Sawit programme

Ksatria Sawit programme

GAR launched the Ksatria Sawit (Palm Oil Warrior) programme in 2019 to help accelerate the traceability process in its final stretch. The programme covers Aceh, North/South Sumatra and Riau where many of our supplier mills are buying from smallholders and agents.

At the end of 2020, 87,000 smallholders registered under the TTP Ksatria Sawit programme.

Ksatria Sawit programme
Read more about our work in supply chain transformation