menu bar
close-grey

用棕榈油创造 DIY 项目的乐趣

Posted: Dec 01, 2021 less than 1 minute read Geraldine Lim 764 views

棕榈油是一种您通常不会将其与#cottagecore#5minutecrafts等流行的自己动手 (DIY)文化联系在一起的材料。然而,当我于2019年在GAR开始我的职业生涯时,我了解到棕榈油的多功能性和实用性。直到今年,我终于有时间让我内心的创意火花开始尝试以棕榈为基础的自制配方。

当谈到浸油和肥皂制作时,大多数人将它们与植物油(如椰子油或橄榄油)联系起来。 但为什么不使用棕榈油呢?棕榈油存在于许多超市商品中,从比萨、糕点和巧克力到洗发水、牙膏和口红。我们也应该能够在 DIY 项目中使用棕榈油作为主要材料。考虑到这一点,一系列用棕榈油烹饪和制作的视频诞生了!

为什么要使用棕榈油?

棕榈油味道清淡并且沸点高,适合作为油浸剂保留迷迭香和大蒜、辣椒和柑橘类水果等的风味。此外,棕榈油因其氧化稳定性而成为成功提供维生素 A 强化剂的理想选择。

另一个有趣的事实是,棕榈油是肥皂中必不可少的成分,无论是条状还是液体状。它用于制造油脂化学品,这是生产表面活性剂(表面活性剂的简称)的关键原料。这些表面活性剂使肥皂能够有效清洁。虽然肥皂通常在工厂以工业规模生产,但您也可以在家中制作。 只需用一块香皂面和一汤匙棕榈油,您就可以学习如何制作可爱的香皂作为给您爱的人的精美礼物,或者只是自己用它们来享受奢华的沐浴时光。让我向你展示如何在家制作棕榈香皂!

视频是如何制作的?

在我发现可以使用棕榈油制作肥皂后,我开始拍摄整个DIY过程。由于COVID-19的限制,这存在一些挑战——这意味着一切都必须以最基本的设备和人员来生产。如果没有我同事的帮助、手机技术的进步以及视频编辑的魔力,这个项目是不可能实现的。

在审查了几个香皂配方后,我们开始着手拍摄。一开始的时候,我们进行了一些反复试验,以确定最佳的照明、定位、取景以及我们如何使用基本设备录制视频以产生最佳效果。我将使用薰衣草肥皂配方向您展示我的意思。

  1. 拍摄前的准备是必须的,我们列出了一份我们需要的所有物品的清单。这可以确保拍摄过程顺利进行的第一步。

    pre-shoot preparation

  2. 在拍摄地点(即是我同事的房子),我们设置了第一个场景。我们从Tasty的拍摄风格中获得灵感,从上到下的角度展示了一个框架内的整个过程。

    inspired by Tasty’s shooting style from a top-down angle

  3. 一切设置好后,我们仔细检查场景的取景和定位(多次)以确保材料和工具的光线充足,并且最小化阴影。

    double-check the framing and positioning of the scenes

  4. 之后,就是开始滚动相机的时候了。在有限的情况下,我们使用了智能手机相机!我很庆幸手机的技术已经很先进,我们可以用这么小的设备制作具有专业外观的视频

    time to start rolling the camera

  5. 制作这个视频系列是两个人的差事,我很高兴我得到了同事Karen的帮助。当我操作摄像机并指导拍摄时,Karen是我们的手模——她的手是制作所有肥皂和整个过程的幕后推手!

    Making this video series was a 2-person job

  6. 每个DIY视频的整个拍摄过程大约需要三个小时,这对我们来说是很累的,但却是一次有趣且有教育意义的经历。到最后雄伟的镜头,一切努力都是值得的!

    The entire process took about three hours per DIY video

 

我希望在未来创造更多有趣和有教育意义的基于手工的DIY项目,以展示这种价格实惠但用途广泛的材料。如此文章所示,棕榈油不仅可以用于煎炸和烘焙。它在工业层面是一种多方面的材料和资源,但它也可以用于自制食谱,如这些香皂(和油浸液)。所以请前往我们的 YouTube频道,了解更多关于我们使用负责任生产的棕榈油烹饪和制作的信息,以及它如何成为您创意之旅的一部分!

 

Geraldine Lim

关于作者:
Geraldine Lim是Golden Agri-Resources的Social Media Specialist。她生活以及呼吸和互联网息息相关。当她不在线上时,你可以看到她其实在厨房里准备下一次美食冒险。

通过在此处订阅我们的每月电子报,了解最新的可追溯性进展。

fb twitter linkedin mail

menu bar
close-grey

The joy of creating DIY projects with palm oil

Posted: Dec 01, 2021 3 minute read Geraldine Lim 770 views

Palm oil is an ingredient you would not commonly associate with trending do-it-yourself (DIY) cultures such as #cottagecore and #5minutecrafts. However, when I started my career at GAR in 2019, I learnt of palm oil’s versatility and usefulness. This year, I finally had the time for my inner creative sparkle to start experimenting with palm-based homemade recipes.

When it comes to oil infusions and soap making, most people associate them with vegetable oils such as coconut or olive. But why not use palm oil? Palm oil is in many supermarket items, from pizza, pastries and chocolate to shampoo, toothpaste and lipstick. We should be able to use palm oil as the hero ingredient in DIY projects too. With that in mind, a series of cooking and making with palm oil videos was born!

Why use palm oil?

Palm oil has a light flavour and a high smoking point, making it suitable to hold flavours such as rosemary and garlic, chilli, and the zest from citrus fruits as oil infusions. Also, palm oil is ideal for successfully delivering vitamin A fortification due to its oxidative stability.

Another fun fact is that palm oil is an essential ingredient in soap, both bar- and liquid form. It is used to make oleochemicals, a key source material to produce surfactants (short for surface active agents). These surfactants are what make soap effective in cleaning. While soap is typically produced on an industrial scale in factories, you can also do it at home. With a bar of soap noodle and a tablespoon of palm oil, you can learn how to create cute scented soaps to make great gifts for your loved ones or simply use them yourself for a luxurious bath time. Let me show you how to make palm-based scented soaps at home!

How were the videos produced?

After my discovery of using palm oil for soap making came to the task of filming the entire DIY process. There were some challenges due to COVID-19 restrictions – meaning everything had to be produced with minimal equipment and staffing. The project would not be possible without the help of my colleague, advances in mobile phone technology, and the magic of video editing.

With a couple of scented soap recipes in check, we set out to start filming. In the beginning, there was some trial and error figuring out the best lighting, positioning, framing, and how we could record the videos using basic equipment to yield the best possible result. I will use the lavender soap recipe to show you what I mean.

  1. Pre-shoot preparation is a must. We made a checklist of all the items we needed. That was the first step to ensure a smooth filming process.

    pre-shoot preparation

  2. At the shoot location (which was my colleague’s house), we set up the first scene. We were inspired by Tasty’s shooting style from a top-down angle to showcase the whole process within a frame.

    inspired by Tasty’s shooting style from a top-down angle

  3. Once everything was set up, we made sure to double-check the framing and positioning of the scenes (multiple times) and ingredients as well as tools were well-lighted with minimal shadow.

    double-check the framing and positioning of the scenes

  4. After that, it was time to start rolling the camera; in this case, we used a smartphone camera! I’m glad that mobile phone technology has advanced so that we can make professional-looking videos from such a small device.

    time to start rolling the camera

  5. Making this video series was a 2-person job, and I am glad I had the help of my colleague, Karen. While I was operating the video camera and directing the shoot, Karen was our hand model—her hands were behind the whole process of making all the soaps!

    Making this video series was a 2-person job

  6. The entire process took about three hours per DIY video to shoot. It was tiring but a fun and educational experience for us. Seeing the final hero shots made all the effort worth it!

    The entire process took about three hours per DIY video


I hope to create more fun and educational palm-based DIY projects in the future to showcase this affordable yet versatile ingredient. Palm oil can be more than just for frying and baking, as demonstrated here. It is a multifaceted ingredient and resource on an industrial level, but it can also be used in homemade recipes like these scented soaps (and oil infusions). So do head over to our YouTube channel to learn more about our cooking and making with responsibly produced palm oil and how it can be a part of your creative journey!

Geraldine Lim
About the writer:
Geraldine Lim is a Social Media Specialist at Golden Agri-Resources. She lives and breathes all things the internet. When she is not online, she can be found cooking up her next gastronomical adventure in the kitchen.

Stay up-to-date with latest in traceability by subscribing to our monthly newsletter here.

fb twitter linkedin mail