menu bar
close-grey

POC 2023:可持发展和棕榈油行业的启示

Posted: Mar 17, 2023 less than 1 minute read GAR 1093 views

价格展望会议(Price Outlook Conference, POC)是全球植物油行业,特别是棕榈油行业最大的生产商、贸易商和客户年度聚会。因为2019冠状病毒疾病的影响,这一盛会中断了三年。上周,它在马来西亚吉隆坡繁华复苏,GAR商业和可持续发展团队也全员到场,展示了我们的可持续发展资质和优质产品。

那么,我们从中学到了什么?正如一位贸易商所说,“现在应该把POC改名为SOC,因为80%的客户对话都围绕可持续性展开了”。

在2019冠状病毒疾病之前,买家对可持续生产的棕榈产品的需求不断增长,但价格仍然是主要问题。如今,随着欧盟等地区推出的新法规,关注点已转移到可持续性以及如何提供可信的零毁林证据方面

印尼棕榈油的美好故事

尽管棕榈油价格最近一直居高不下,但在过去五年中,印度尼西亚的森林砍伐率却一直下降,这个趋势甚至在疫情前就已经开始了。

根据Trase Insights 于2022年发布的一项研究,印尼与棕榈油有关的森林砍伐在过去十年中减少了82%。部分原因在于政府推出多项有利森林的政策,同时农业综合企业也在报告中跟踪和披露了其供应链。

在国家层面上,印度尼西亚再次确认了将地球温度升幅限制在1.5摄氏度以下的承诺。在第27届联合国气候变化大会(COP27)之前, 印度尼西亚更新了2030年国家自定贡献预案(NDC)目标,将2030年减排目标提高到43.20%,比最初目标高出约2%。此外,印度尼西亚还实施了一项法令,推动实现2030年森林土地利用净碳汇。这是印度尼西亚气候方面的一项努力,目的是通过保护森林,到2030年之前将排放量减少60%。

虽然在棕榈业的从业者不能自满,但趋势数据表明,在政府政策和企业承诺的共同努力下,以商品为目的的森林砍伐活动得到遏制。

我们预计各国将出台更多市场和生产法规,推动实现棕榈油供应链的可持续转型,其中包括美国的FOREST法。由于俄乌冲突和气候变化对其他农作物的影响,全球市场将持续波动,棕榈油的可持续性将继续发挥重要作用。

可持续性数据具有市场价值

展示你的原材料来自采用负责任的管理方式实现可持续生产的供应链,其重要性前所未有。可追溯性是这种供应链的基础。自2015年以来,我们实现了对工厂的100%可追溯性,此后这一直是我们可持续发展战略的重要部分。到2022年底,我们的棕榈油供应链实现了98%的种植园可追溯性(TTP)。

除了可追溯性(显示采购来源)之外,我们还收集有关可持续性表现的其他信息。这些信息包括无森林砍伐的证据和公平对待社区等方面。

我们对TTP的投资使我们对供应链有了前所未有的了解。我们已绘制了大、中、小型工厂和房地产运营商以及超过10万名小农户的地图。尽管98%的TTP看起来接近100%,但实际情况却截然不同。

GAR在2022年有113家新供应商加入,供应商的进进出出会导致供应链的变化。确保TTP数据准确并审查其是否符合“不砍伐森林、不占用泥炭地和不剥削”(NDPE) 规定是一个巨大的任务。此外,我们尚未完成追溯的2%主要由小农户组成,到目前为止,我们已经绘制了80万张地图中的约12万张。完成剩下的2%将是一项挑战。

我们使用禁止砍伐森林、禁止泥炭和禁止开采实施报告框架(NDPE-IRF)来监测和报告我们的供应链可持续性表现。

卫星监测对于表明我们正在履行NDPE承诺至关重要。我们与多位外部专家合作,分析我们供应基地的卫星图像。这些分析结果以及实地考察和供应商的自我声明指导我们与供应商和小农户的合作。

drone view of plantation
我们的无人机鸟瞰图也收集了种植园的数据。

收集、分析和管理供应链可持续性数据需要耗费大量时间和资源。我们通过让Control Union和PWC等第三方验证我们的数据,推动这项工作更进一步。随着数据变得越来越有价值,这项投资使我们在满足市场对于证明我们供应链无森林砍伐的要求方面处于有利位置。

买家正在寻找在无森林砍伐供应链方面值得信赖的棕榈供应商。行业转型的下一步不能只将可持续性数据看做冷冰冰的数字,而是要考虑那些以棕榈为生的人。

投资加速棕榈供应链转型

印尼棕榈油产量的40%来自小农户,他们是我们供应链的重要组成部分。我们致力于投资于小农户的可持续性转型,以使他们继续留在我们的供应链中,并满足市场对可持续性的期望。

我们的Sawit Terampil计划通过提供团体辅导和有针对性的个人支持,来支持全国范围内的独立农民实施可持续农业生产,旨在吸引超过4,000名农民参与。

smallholders
小农户学习可持续农业生产

此外,我们支持Siak Pelalawan美丽计划(SPLP),该计划旨在在印尼廖内岛的Siak和Pelalawan地区实现可持续棕榈油生产。在这一倡议下,我们已经评估了91%的Siak地区供应商和78%的Pelalawan地区供应商,并对他们进行了密集的培训和辅导,以及实地考察以改进TTP。

在POC,我们鼓励买家为这些转型举措做出贡献。只有通过集体贡献,行业才能实现持久的可持续生产。

POC之后

展望未来,我们将继续探讨如何合法、恰当、及时地为行业转型提供资金并共享可持续性数据。我们正在寻找合作伙伴,共同投资于我们正在的持续性计划,特别是与小农户相关的计划。

尽管森林砍伐依然是议程上的首要问题,但社会问题、劳工权益和人权将成为监管的下一个焦点。NDPE实施报告框架的“禁止剥削”部分将于今年推出,并为可持续性数据添加一个全新、有价值的组成部分。

 

如果您想进一步了解GAR对负责任来源的承诺,请阅读此处的相关内容。

此处提供了炼油厂一级的资料。

fb twitter linkedin mail

menu bar
close-grey

What did POC tell us about sustainability and the palm oil sector in 2023?

Posted: Mar 17, 2023 5 minute read GAR 0 Likes

Price Outlook Conference or POC is the largest annual gathering of producers, traders and customers in the vegetable oils sector, specifically palm, globally. After a three-year hiatus thanks to COVID, it was back in all its bustling, chaotic glory in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, last week.

The Golden Agri-Resources (GAR) commercial and sustainability teams were there in full force, showcasing our sustainability credentials alongside our quality products.

What did we learn? As one trader put it, “the POC should now be renamed the SOC as sustainability was 80 percent of the customer conversation”.

Before COVID, buyers showed growing demand for sustainably produced palm-based products, but price was still the main concern. With new regulations, such as the EU regulation on deforestation-free products, the conversation has shifted to sustainability and how to provide credible zero deforestation proof.

Indonesian palm oil has a good story to tell

Deforestation rates in Indonesia are on the decline and have been for the past five years, even prior to the pandemic and despite the recent high prices for palm.

A 2022 study by Trase Insights found that deforestation linked to palm oil in Indonesia has waned by 82 percent over the past decade. This was due in part to forest-positive policies and agribusiness companies tracing and disclosing their supply chains in reports.

At the national level, Indonesia has reaffirmed its commitment to limiting the increase of the earth’s temperature below 1.5 degrees Celsius. Indonesia submitted its Enhanced Nationally Determined Contribution (ENDC) ahead of COP27, increasing their target to reduce emissions to 43.20 percent by 2030, about 2 percent higher than initial targets. Indonesia also has put into effect a decree to execute its Forest and Land Use (FoLU) Net Carbon Sink 2030. This is part of the country’s climate efforts aimed at reducing its emissions by 60 percent by 2030 by protecting its forests.

Although the palm industry cannot be complacent, trend data suggests that the combination of government policies and corporate commitments is working to halt commodity-driven deforestation.

We expect further market and production regulations aimed at the sustainable transformation of the palm oil supply chain, including the US Forest Act. With continued global market volatility due to the Russia-Ukraine conflict and climate change-linked impact on production in other crops, palm sustainability will continue to be important.

Sustainability data has a market value

Showing that you source from a responsibly managed, sustainably produced supply chain has never been more important. And traceability is the foundation of such a supply chain. This has been a key part of our sustainability strategy since 2015 when we achieved 100 percent traceability to the mill. At the end of 2022, we achieved 98 percent Traceability to The Plantation (TTP) for our palm oil supply chain.

Beyond traceability – which tells you where you are sourcing from – we also gather other information on sustainability performance. This ranges from deforestation-free evidence to fair treatment of communities.

Our investment in TTP gives us an unprecedented understanding of our supply chain. We have mapped large, medium and smaller mill and estate operators, as well as over 100,000 smallholders. While 98 percent TTP might seem close to 100 percent, the reality is vastly different.

Supply chain variance – the movement of new suppliers in and out of our supply chain – involved onboarding 113 new suppliers in 2022. Securing TTP data and vetting them for No Deforestation, No Peat, and No Exploitation (NDPE) compliance is a massive undertaking. In addition, the final two percent of our supply is mainly made up of smallholders. To date, we have mapped about 120,000 out of 800,000. Completing the last two percent will be challenging.

We monitor and report on our supply chain sustainability performance using the No Deforestation, No Peat and No Exploitation Implementation Reporting Framework (NDPE-IRF).

Satellite monitoring is vital to show our NDPE commitments are being met. We work with multiple external experts to analyse satellite images over our supply base. Such analysis, along with site visits and supplier self-declarations, guides our engagement efforts with suppliers and smallholders.

drone view of plantation
Bird’s-eye view from our drones, which also collect data on our plantations.

Collecting, analysing and managing supply chain sustainability data is time and resource intensive. We go the extra mile by having our data verified by 3rd parties such as Control Union and PWC. With data becoming increasingly valuable, this investment has positioned us well to meet market requirements for proving a deforestation-free supply.

Buyers are seeking palm suppliers that offer confidence in a deforestation-free supply chain. The next step in transforming the industry is to view sustainability data beyond mere numbers and consider the people whose livelihoods depend on palm.

Investment accelerates palm supply chain transformation

40 percent of Indonesian palm oil production comes from smallholders who are a significant part of our supply chain. We are committed to investing in their sustainability transformation to keep them in our supply chain while meeting market sustainability expectations.

Our Sawit Terampil programme supports independent farmers nationwide by providing group coaching and targeted individual support to implement sustainable agricultural practices. The goal is to involve over 4,000 farmers.

smallholders
Smallholder farmers learning about sustainable agriculture practices.

Furthermore, we support the Siak Pelalawan Landscape Programme (SPLP) – an initiative that aims to achieve sustainable palm oil production in the Siak and Pelalawan districts in Riau, Indonesia. Under this initiative, we have assessed 91 percent of our Siak district suppliers and 78 percent of our Pelalawan district suppliers. We have also led intensive training and coaching for them and conducted field visits to suppliers to improve TTP.

At POC, buyers were encouraged to contribute to these transformation initiatives. Only through collective contribution will the industry achieve lasting sustainable practices.

Beyond POC

Looking ahead, the conversation on how to fund industry transformation and share sustainability data legally, appropriately and on-time will continue. We are looking for collaborators to co-invest in our ongoing programmes, particularly those linked to smallholders.

Whilst deforestation, as ever, was the top item on the agenda, social issues, labour and human rights are the next regulatory concern. The No Exploitation component of the NDPE Implementation Reporting Framework rolls out this year and will add a new, valuable component to sustainability data.

 

If you want to learn more about GAR’s commitment to responsible sourcing, read here.

Refinery-level profiles are freely available here.

fb twitter linkedin mail