menu bar
close-grey

以可持续方式生产棕榈油的重要性:欧洲一览

Posted: May 16, 2023 less than 1 minute read GAR 1198 views

您知道吗?棕榈油是包装商品中使用最为广泛的成分之一,从生产食品和饮料到化妆品和清洁产品,棕榈油都不可或缺。近一半的包装产品中含有棕榈油。

五十年以来,全球棕榈油产量一直在稳步飙升。Grand View Research 的数据显示,2022年全球棕榈油市值为 637 亿美元。预计从 2022 年到 2030 年,棕榈油市场将以5.1% 的年增长率增长。

棕榈油面临的挑战:保护栖息地

然而,棕榈油市场迅速扩张引发了人们的担忧,因为开辟棕榈种植园时,有可能砍伐地球上一些最具价值但脆弱的栖息地。

砍伐森林等不可持续的做法可能会导致雨林和红树林消失,而这些树林具有丰富的生物多样性,是不可替代的资源。毁林会破坏猩猩、老虎、大象和犀牛等濒危物种的家园。

那么有没有可能在不砍伐森林的情况下增加用于种植园的土地面积呢?

当然有!我们可以充分利用退化的土地或曾经种植其他作物的土地。

作为一大棕榈油市场,欧洲一直积极倡导通过棕榈油可持续生产来解决这些问题。即使到现在,欧洲仍然是认证可持续棕榈油的最大需求市场

强制促进可持续发展:欧洲打造环保世界的举措之一

欧洲为推广可持续生产的棕榈油推出了一项新法规,要求在欧盟市场上销售产品的公司需确保其供应链不涉及森林砍伐。

new-eu-regulation

虽然我们尚未了解所有的细节,但法规对欧盟买家提出了三项要求。他们需要提交:

  1. 产区的具体位置
  2. 毁林情况检查
  3. 生产合法性检查

除此之外,欧盟还将出台更多法规,包括企业可持续发展尽职调查指令(Corporate Sustainability Due Diligence directive)。该指令将要求企业不得损害环境或侵犯人权。欧盟还在着手制定另一项规则,禁止由强迫劳动生产的产品进入欧盟市场。更多细节将于今年公布。

而在各种大宗商品中,棕榈油有望率先满足这些新要求。过去十年中,棕榈油行业在解决毁林问题上成效显著。在行业的共同努力下,印尼棕榈油的森林砍伐率大幅下降。此外,大多数进口棕榈油(93%)已获认证,向满足新要求迈出了一大步。尽管工作尚未完善,但棕榈油行业已经处于有利地位,可以在可持续商品生产方面发挥领导作用,为其他行业树立榜样。

未雨绸缪:GAR 如何为欧盟新规做好准备

GAR 确信能够以负责任的方式种植棕榈油,兼顾环境和当地人民的需求。我们早已在森林保护和可追溯性方面开展投资,为帮助客户满足新要求做足了准备。

我们对保护森林的承诺可以追溯到 1997 年,在那一年推出了零燃烧政策。依照这项政策,我们为供应商和当地社区提供教育、培训和帮助,提高了预防和扑灭火灾的消防能力。

zero-burning-policy-2021-r1

在2011 年里,我们进一步实施了森林保育政策。根据这项政策,我们大力保护高碳储量(HCS)和高保护价值(HCV)地区的森林。2015 年,我们将这一政策的覆盖范围扩展至第三方供应链。正是由于多年来的持续努力,我们如今守护了运营区中超过 7.9 万公顷的保护区,帮助供应商保护了 11.7 万公顷的森林,并与当地社区合作保护了另外 4.3 万公顷森林,总计 24 万公顷。

240000-hectares

同样,我们在 2014 年初启动可追溯性计划,并在 2015 年实现工厂完全可追溯。到 2017 年底,我们的可追溯性工作再上新台阶,旗下工厂实现了种植园的完全可追溯性(TTP)。从那时起,我们已经实现了 98% 的 TTP,并继续通过卫星监测、现场调查以及委托第三方验证数据等具体步骤来实现 100% TTP的目标,从而保证我们的供应链透明度和问责制达到最高水平。

我们对打击森林砍伐的承诺由来已久。作为可持续棕榈油生产的先驱,我们坚定不移地履行保护森林的承诺。由于在实现供应链可追溯方面一向表现突出,我们积累的专业知识和数据能够帮助客户满足欧盟的新要求。

改变整个行业形象的机会

根据欧盟新规而为每批货物提供可持续性信息将成为一项挑战。更加来说,目前规则仍不明确。然而,从另一个角度来看,这些规定让棕榈油行业有机会展示对无毁林供应、可持续性和社会责任的承诺。

正是由于公共和私营部门的共同努力,印尼棕榈油砍伐率在过去 10 年中下降了82%。

通过展示行业在可持续发展方面所做的努力,棕榈油生产商可以改变大众对行业的成见,证明自己可以通过负责任的方式生产棕榈油,赢得欧洲消费者的信任。

—–

我们一直寻求与其他价值观相符的合作方合作。欢迎浏览我们的产品和服务页面,与我们携手共创符合欧盟法规的产品。

—–

通过在此处订阅我们的每月电子报,了解最新的可追溯性进展。

fb twitter linkedin mail

menu bar
close-grey

Why sustainably produced palm oil matters: A look into Europe

Posted: May 16, 2023 4 minute read GAR 0 Likes

Did you know that palm oil is one of the most widely used ingredients in packaged products, ranging from food and beverages to cosmetics and cleaning products? Almost half of all packaged products contain palm oil.

And for five decades, global palm oil production has been soaring steadily. According to Grand View Research, the global palm oil market was worth USD 63.7 billion in 2022. It is expected to grow at a 5.1 percent annual rate from 2022 to 2030.

The palm oil challenge: Protecting habitats

However, the rapid expansion of the palm oil market has raised concerns about cutting down some of our planet’s most valuable and vulnerable habitats to make way for plantations.

Unsustainable practices, such as the clearing of forests, can end in the loss of irreplaceable rainforests and mangroves, which are rich in biodiversity. This affects the home of threatened species like orangutans, tigers, elephants, and rhinos.

Is it possible to increase the amount of land used for plantations without forest-clearing?

Yes! We can use degraded land or territory once used for other crops.

As a market, Europe has been a vocal advocate for sustainably produced palm oil to tackle these concerns. Even now, they remain the top demand driver for Certified Sustainable Palm Oil.

Mandatory sustainability: An ingredient in Europe’s recipe for a greener world

Europe is set to step up its efforts in promoting sustainably produced palm oil with a new regulation, which requires companies to ensure that their supply chains are deforestation-free to sell their products in the EU market.

new-eu-regulation

While we have yet to learn all the details, there are three requirements for EU buyers. They are the submission of:

  1. Specific location of production plots
  2. Checks for deforestation
  3. Checks for production legality

More regulations are also coming, like the Corporate Sustainability Due Diligence directive. This will ask companies to ensure they are not harming the environment or violating human rights. The EU is also working on a rule to stop products made with forced labour from entering the EU market. More details are coming this year.

Palm oil is perhaps the most prepared commodity to meet these new requirements. The sector has made sizeable headway in tackling deforestation over the past decade, with joint efforts resulting in a substantial reduction in Indonesian palm oil deforestation rates. Additionally, a majority of palm oil imports (93%) are already certified, which is a big step towards meeting the new requirements. While there is still work to be done, the palm oil industry is well-positioned to lead the way in sustainable commodity production and serve as an example for other sectors to follow.

Ahead of the game: How GAR’s ready for new EU rules

Palm oil can be grown responsibly, with consideration for both the environment and the local people. Thanks to our early investments in forest protection and traceability, we are well-equipped to help our customers meet the new requirements.

Our commitment to safeguarding forests dates back to 1997 when we introduced our Zero Burning Policy. Under this policy, we educate, train, and help suppliers and local communities build fire-fighting capabilities to prevent and suppress fires.

zero-burning-policy-2021-r1

In 2011, we went one step further with our Forest Conservation Policy, under which we protect forests that contain High Carbon Stock (HCS) and High Conservation Value (HCV) areas. In 2015, we extended this policy to our third-party supply chain. Thanks to these early efforts, today we protect over 79,000 hectares of conservation areas in our operation areas, support our suppliers in conserving 110,000 hectares of forests, and work with local communities to protect another 43,000 hectares of forests – for a total of 220,000 hectares.

hectares of conservation area

Similarly, we started our traceability journey early in 2014, achieving full Traceability to the Mill in 2015. By the end of 2017, we had taken our traceability efforts to the next level, reaching full Traceability to the Plantation (TTP) for our owned mills. Since then, we have attained 98 percent TTP and are continuing to chase our goal of 100 percent TTP with concrete steps like satellite monitoring, site visits, and having our data verified by 3rd parties to ensure the highest level of transparency and accountability in our supply chain.

Our commitment to combating deforestation is longstanding. As a pioneer in sustainable palm oil production, we have a deep-rooted commitment to protecting forests. And with a proven track record of achieving traceability in our supply chain, we have the expertise and data to support our customers in meeting the new EU requirements.

A chance to shift the story

Delivering sustainability information at a per shipment level under the new EU regulations will be challenging, and the rules are still unclear. But, arguably, these regulations offer the palm oil industry a chance to demonstrate its commitment to deforestation-free supply, sustainability and social responsibility.

Concerted public and private sector efforts have led to an 82 percent drop in Indonesian palm oil deforestation rates over the past decade.

By highlighting their sustainability efforts, palm oil producers can shift the negative perceptions surrounding their industry, prove that palm oil can be produced responsibly, and gain the trust of European consumers.

—–

We always seek opportunities to work with others who share our values. Check out our Product & Services page to collaborate with us to create products that comply with EU regulations.

—–

fb twitter linkedin mail