为什么我们关心泥炭地恢复

泥炭地是一种湿地,由部分腐烂的植被或有机物在渍水条件下积累而成。泥炭地的重要性在于,它比全世界的森林能多存储两倍的碳,并且其中的生物极其多样。

我们主要的经营地区位于印度尼西亚,这里拥有大片热带泥炭地和一些全世界最深的泥炭地区域。通过保育和恢复我们特许经营区内的泥炭地,GAR 旨在减少温室气体 (GHG) 的排放,这对应对气候变化至关重要。我们正在努力恢复这个被数百万人、植物和动物视为家园的重要生态系统。

泥炭地经常被排干用于农业目的。泥炭地被过度开发并且干涸后,由于土壤中的高碳含量,它会释放大量的温室气体。此外,干涸受损的泥炭地变得极易燃烧,发生火灾时,还会进一步释放温室气体。据 IUCN 估计,从受损泥炭地中排放的温室气体占据全球人为碳排放量的 5.6%。

2010 年,为了履行我们对负责任的棕榈油生产的承诺,GAR 做出了具有里程碑意义的决定,即停止开发泥炭地。我们已经开始着手通过重新湿润干涸的土地并采取其他措施来恢复这些泥炭地,从而降低火灾风险,恢复其复杂的生态系统。

peat rehabilitation
泥炭地生态系统恢复项目

2015 年 11 月,GAR 在西加里曼丹的 PT Agro Lestari Mandiri (PT AMNL) 启动了泥炭地生态系统恢复项目。这涉及恢复 2,600 公顷左右的泥炭地,以保留在2015年火灾季节中受损的泥炭地。

GAR 一直在技术专家的帮助下修复泥炭地,包括恢复泥炭地的水文状况和地下水位,以降低火灾风险。迄今为止,我们已经在 900 多公顷的泥炭地上重新栽植了 15 种以上的植物。

我们的员工与当地社区积极积极互动,确保居民能够参与并支持泥炭地的恢复。GAR 还通过 Desa Makmur Peduli Api 项目与社区合作,采取长期的防火措施。

位于 PT AMNL 的泥炭地生态系统恢复项目区域的地图(2,616.17 公顷)
peat rehabilitation

Why we care about peat rehabilitation

Peatlands are a type of wetland, formed through the accumulation of partially decayed vegetation or organic matter in waterlogged conditions. Peatlands are important because they contain twice as much carbon as all the world’s forests, and are incredibly biodiverse.

Indonesia, where most of our operations are based, is home to large swathes of tropical peatlands and some of the deepest peat areas globally. Through the conservation and restoration of peatlands in our concessions, GAR aims to reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions, which is vital to fighting climate change. We are working toward reviving this essential ecosystem that millions of people, plants, and animals call home.

hcs area

Peatland is often drained for agricultural purposes. When they are overexploited and dry out, they emit massive amounts of GHG due to the high carbon content in the soil. Additionally, dry and damaged peatland becomes extremely flammable. When peat fires occur, they cause further GHG emissions. The IUCN estimates that GHG emissions from damaged peatlands makes up 5.6 percent of all man-made emissions globally.

In 2010, in line with our commitment to responsible palm oil production, GAR made the landmark decision to stop development on peatland. We have embarked on a mission to rehabilitate these peatlands through rewetting drained lands and other measures in order to reduce fire risks as well as to restore their complex ecosystems.

protecting hcs area

Peat Ecosystem Rehabilitation Project

In November 2015, GAR launched the Peat Ecosystem Rehabilitation Project at PT Agro Lestari Mandiri (PT AMNL) in West Kalimantan. This involves the rehabilitation of around 2,600 hectares of peatland set aside for conservation damaged by fire during the 2015 fire season.

With the help of technical experts, GAR has been rehabilitating the peatland, including restoring the peatland’s hydrology and water-table to reduce the risk of fire. To date, we have re-vegetated more than 900 hectares of peatland with more than 15 plant species.

Our people engage actively with local communities on the ground to ensure that residents are involved in and support peatland rehabilitation. GAR also works with the communities on long-term fire prevention measures through the Desa Makmur Peduli Api programme.

Map of Peat Ecosystem Rehabilitation Project Area in PT AMNL (2,616.17 hectares)
peta konservasi